Can't paint any cars in TMU

Any problem ? Don't panic! We have the solution !

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Post Reply
Ark Angel Nate
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2007 00:39
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMS

Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Ark Angel Nate » 11 Sep 2007 19:27

Well I can't paint any cars in TMU, I can change the overall color of the selected car, but I cannot put stickers on it or use the spraypainter. Any idea why this might be?

Ark Angel Nate
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2007 00:39
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMS

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Ark Angel Nate » 12 Sep 2007 20:03

To be more specific, this happens with all the enviornments cars, so I'm completely unable to repaint any of them.

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Mac Matrix » 13 Sep 2007 16:55

What graphics card / chip you using?

I had a very similar problem with my old laptop, which has a 64 meg S3 graphics chip, in that in trying to paint the cars I would get (what appeared to be) a black mis-positioned alpha layer of the car's Diffuse.dds file painting on the car instead, and would eventually crash the game if I tried painting too long.
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

Ark Angel Nate
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2007 00:39
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMS

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Ark Angel Nate » 15 Sep 2007 20:18

Well this is more of, I select a sticker, and click on the surface, and I can't see anything. I can't even see the sticker being moved around the car when I place the mouse over it. I'm running a GeForce 2 MX Graphics Card, which should support this game. I have no idea why it won't let me paint the cars.

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Mac Matrix » 15 Sep 2007 22:07

a Geforce 2........ that's old. That really is old.

Maybe you should look into updating the card's drivers, although really I would want to look into getting a new card period.
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

Ark Angel Nate
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2007 00:39
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMS

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Ark Angel Nate » 17 Sep 2007 00:10

This computer actually needs to be replaced. I got this computer in the year 2000. So it'd be better to get a new computer than a new graphics card.

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Mac Matrix » 18 Sep 2007 12:17

I'm surprised it even runs the game then, if it's that old.

Problem solved? ^^
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Racemaniac » 19 Sep 2007 08:17

haven't the painters always been an issue on old graphics cards?
ever since they put it in, it was geforce3+ cards only i think. probably still the samefor tmu
as much as the trackmanias may rule, carmageddon 1 & 2 are still the best games ever :D

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Trackmaniack » 21 Sep 2007 15:34

Hey, a similar thing happened to me in TMS...on my Windows XP before my update, I was running an integrated 3dfx Voodoo 3 card with DirectX 8, and when I tried to paint the cars, I could change the color, but the brushes and stickers, when I would try to use them, instead of just being one decal or shape, would be multiple clones of the shape over the whole car. It actually resulted in some pretty interesting paintjobs, which I could show you if you wanted to see them. It was really quite a unique thing, and kinda fun, too...you had to think of what patterns would look good on the car, not just single decals.
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Can't paint any cars in TMU

Post by Mac Matrix » 26 Sep 2007 09:51

Trackmaniack wrote:Hey, a similar thing happened to me in TMS...on my Windows XP before my update, I was running an integrated 3dfx Voodoo 3 card with DirectX 8, and when I tried to paint the cars, I could change the color, but the brushes and stickers, when I would try to use them, instead of just being one decal or shape, would be multiple clones of the shape over the whole car. It actually resulted in some pretty interesting paintjobs, which I could show you if you wanted to see them. It was really quite a unique thing, and kinda fun, too...you had to think of what patterns would look good on the car, not just single decals.
yeah I kinda have that same issue on my old desktop (it uses an SiS graphics chip)

I've managed to get some pretty cool paintjobs on my cars on this laptop - for some reason my card likes to scramble the brushes.

http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/8475 ... t18ee8.png

the black 'square' objects on the side of the car is actually a result of a graphics glitch xD
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

Post Reply