Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Any problem ? Don't panic! We have the solution !

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Post Reply
User avatar
Magonator
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 21
Joined: 08 Jul 2007 04:57
Owned TM-games: TM,TMU,TMUF,TM2,TMT
Location: Australia

Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by Magonator » 15 Oct 2009 06:38

When I play United, I can run the game on Very High graphics, while having a high framerate.
When I play United Forever, I have to run it on Medium graphics, otherwise the framerate drops severely and becomes unplayable. If I have it on anything above Medium, a message comes up saying something like "Your framerate is low. Reduce the graphics quality to improve it."

It is the same computer I am playing them on. And it's not like my computer has gotten worse or something, because if I played regular United now, I could play it on Very High quality.

My system specs are:
1GB RAM
Intel Pentium Dual Core @1.80GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS
32-bit Vista Home Premium

Why can't I run Forever on High or Very High?

Thank you

FocusTechSupport
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 47
Joined: 20 Apr 2009 15:39
Owned TM-games: All TrackMania games
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by FocusTechSupport » 15 Oct 2009 08:59

I need more information about your hardware configuration:

1. Click Windows Start button or press Windows and R keys.
2. Type DXDIAG in the Search bar (bottom left) or in Run window and press Enter key.

Display tab: the driver date.
Audio tab: name of the audio controller and the driver date.

User avatar
Magonator
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 21
Joined: 08 Jul 2007 04:57
Owned TM-games: TM,TMU,TMUF,TM2,TMT
Location: Australia

Re: Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by Magonator » 15 Oct 2009 12:45

Display driver date: 10/01/2008 7:57:00 AM
I wasn't sure what to put for the audio part, so here's a screenshot: http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/9269/audioinfo.png
You may aswell have the display screenshot too: http://img131.imageshack.us/img131/7871/displayinfo.png

Gording
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 281
Joined: 06 Nov 2007 12:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMNF, TMUF
Location: far away from eejits, and lazy timewasters
Contact:

Re: Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by Gording » 18 Oct 2009 16:23

Magonator wrote:When I play United, I can run the game on Very High graphics, while having a high framerate.
When I play United Forever, I have to run it on Medium graphics, otherwise the framerate drops severely and becomes unplayable.

Why can't I run Forever on High or Very High?
While it may seem like it is the same game, Nadeo reportedly changed lots of stuff behind the scenes in Forever. Features like lightmaps, shaders, and other technical guff were supposedly altered, and there are obviously differences in the two game versions.

For instance here are some screen grabs of my test to confirm what you've got in TM United.

Display options 1
Image

Game Options 2
Image

Older menus too!
Image

Image

Testing the frame rate in TM United
Image

Scoring was between 123 and 128 frames per second with the options above. I wouldn't advise anyone to go through all this multiple installation testing themselves as they may make a mess of things, however, I fear no evil! :thumbsup:

---------------------------------

HOWEVER, in TM United Forever

TM United Forever settings :
Image

Image

I had to dig in a little deeper to find the Lightmaps settings :

Image

...and final frame rate score is :
Image

Only 107, or 20% lower at what seem on the surface to be the same options, resolutions, and settings. So there's a quite a difference in the game engines behind TM United, and TM United Forever. This is the same reason why people on the very margins of playable frame rates or usablity with older United immediately found themselves to be out in the cold when they used TM United Forever. It may seem the same game, it may largely look like the same game...but behind the game are a different set of rules, and a higher hardware requirement is required. Of course the lower your go down the graphics power slide the greater this apparent impact is, so you'd have to use lower the options in Forever to get the same frame rates.

Tom.CZ.73
speed demon
speed demon
Posts: 1623
Joined: 08 Mar 2006 17:10
Owned TM-games: all PC versions
Manialink(s): Tom.CZ.73, sQs
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by Tom.CZ.73 » 18 Oct 2009 16:36

TMuf runs slower on lowend PCs then TMu. It fact

User avatar
Magonator
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 21
Joined: 08 Jul 2007 04:57
Owned TM-games: TM,TMU,TMUF,TM2,TMT
Location: Australia

Re: Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by Magonator » 19 Oct 2009 04:26

Thank you Gording for the trouble you went to, it's quite clear. I understand why now.
Thank you again

User avatar
El Fuego
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1097
Joined: 27 Oct 2006 11:00
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TM2 C/S
Location: Nae too far frae Glesgie
Contact:

Re: Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by El Fuego » 20 Oct 2009 15:54

What does Post Process Fx do? (Mine is checked, but I notice Gording's is not).
Cheers!
.FUEY.
Diary Of A Mad Man

Tom.CZ.73
speed demon
speed demon
Posts: 1623
Joined: 08 Mar 2006 17:10
Owned TM-games: all PC versions
Manialink(s): Tom.CZ.73, sQs
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by Tom.CZ.73 » 20 Oct 2009 16:20

Do you see inactive checkboxes ? That's what it does

User avatar
El Fuego
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1097
Joined: 27 Oct 2006 11:00
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TM2 C/S
Location: Nae too far frae Glesgie
Contact:

Re: Before Forever, I ran it on best quality. Now only medium?

Post by El Fuego » 20 Oct 2009 19:53

Ah! Thanks Tom. :)
Cheers!
.FUEY.
Diary Of A Mad Man

Post Reply