Page 1 of 1

TMUF won't start - window appears, but says "Not Responding"

Posted: 05 Jan 2010 23:19
by Magonator
It worked fine up until today. Now, when I press "Play" from the game popup thing, the Trackmania game window appears, but stays empty. It eventually says "Not Responding".
I tried cleaning the cache but it did not help.

No matter how long I wait, it never "Responds".
NO error message appears.

EDIT: I've just discovered that NONE of my games will work! What's happening??! Is this serious?? Please help me! They don't show errors, they just sit there and don't respond.

Here are my system specs:
Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2160 @1.80GHz 1.80GHz
1GB ram
NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS (256MB)
Vista Home Premium 32-bit

Any ideas? I don't like being without TM! :(
Thank you

Re: TMUF won't start - window appears, but says "Not Responding"

Posted: 06 Jan 2010 11:51
by S.D.Eagle
hey

i got kind of the same problem with tmuf, created a topic earlier but no replys yet.
but for some reason for me all games except tm still work...
are you sure that really all games stoped working? could you post a list of games which don't work?
maybe all this games use something thats responsible for the bug

games still working (for me)

Dragon Age
Star Wars Jedy Academy
Portal
Freelancer
CoD Modern Warfare 1 & 2

Re: TMUF won't start - window appears, but says "Not Responding"

Posted: 06 Jan 2010 15:30
by Trackmaniack
To the OP...do you have adequate virus protection? If you don't have an antivirus, or it's outdated, then you could have any number of problems. If this is not the case, then I would quickly check your warranty to see if it's still valid. If so, take your computer to the nearest Best Buy, Staples, or similar and tell 'em your woes. They should fix it. If not...well, here's what I think it could be, based on my limited expertise. Old parts, old ram chips, bad HD, fragged HD, damaged motherboard, CPU overloaded, could be any one of those things...

Re: TMUF won't start - window appears, but says "Not Responding"

Posted: 21 Feb 2010 21:22
by Bryan199810
Magonator wrote: Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2160 @1.80GHz
^^^
64-bit processor
Magonator wrote:1GB ram
^^^
That's probably the reason, time to upgrade :wink:
Magonator wrote:NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS (256MB)
Wikipedia wrote:In the summer of 2007, NVIDIA released the entry level GeForce 8300 and 8400 series of graphics cards.
^^^
That's old
Magonator wrote:Vista Home Premium 32-bit
^^^
you need to have a 64-bit OS and drivers to take advantage of more than 2.93 GB of RAM and a 64-bit processor.

Which will cost ALLOT of money
In other words it's time get a new computer, but be sure to back up your data :wink:

Hope this helps!


Note I Colored the words red that were important and made them bold

Re: TMUF won't start - window appears, but says "Not Respond

Posted: 27 Mar 2010 02:37
by Magonator
Bryan199810 wrote:
Magonator wrote: Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2160 @1.80GHz
^^^
64-bit processor
Magonator wrote:1GB ram
^^^
That's probably the reason, time to upgrade :wink:
Magonator wrote:NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS (256MB)
Wikipedia wrote:In the summer of 2007, NVIDIA released the entry level GeForce 8300 and 8400 series of graphics cards.
^^^
That's old
Magonator wrote:Vista Home Premium 32-bit
^^^
you need to have a 64-bit OS and drivers to take advantage of more than 2.93 GB of RAM and a 64-bit processor.

Which will cost ALLOT of money
In other words it's time get a new computer, but be sure to back up your data :wink:

Hope this helps!


Note I Colored the words red that were important and made them bold
Thank you Bryan. I just don't understand why TMU used to work in the first place. I won't be able to get another computer for some time... probably about 3 years. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted.