TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Any problem ? Don't panic! We have the solution !

Moderator: TM-Patrol

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 03 Jun 2010 18:33

Hello all,

i recently got TMNF of steam for free and i downloaded it and installed it PERFECTLY and then i ran it PERFECTLY and then after a very satisfying 6 hours i had to go to bed....but the next day when i wanted to play again, i started it and got some baloney message....

TmForever allows you to create internet games and exchange data with other players (peer to peer).
We're now checking your network connection, so that you can configure your firewall.

ive tried turning off all my firewalls, ive tried unchecking everything in network settings except Check network connection and i've unchecked all things in Peer to peer ive looked HIGH and LOW on the internet and to no avail, can SOMEONE tell me how to fix this fawking problem :ftw: :ftw: :ftw:

jamie_macdonald
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 1612
Joined: 10 Jul 2008 19:48
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF, TMS
Manialink(s): ET
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by jamie_macdonald » 03 Jun 2010 19:16

I think that's a fairly standard warning, the game should run fine even so.

Might mean you are falling back to TCP only (UDP outbound ports not configured)

Could try opening the default port for TM, i think if my memory is working, it's 2350 or 2354 ...long time ago i last checked >.>

Hope all works ok for you ;)

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 03 Jun 2010 19:19

this did nothing i went into my network settings and checked to see the port number but it was already 2350 and i changed it to 2354 and it still shows the message... im not sure what all that TCP and UDP outbound ports not configured stuff means but it didnt work... thanks anyways :P

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 04 Jun 2010 03:46

so far, nothing has helped and i am still unable to play the game if ANYONE has ANY solution, PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD TELL ME!

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by Racemaniac » 04 Jun 2010 06:15

what are you trying to do?
if you just want to play, don't bother with the message
it's only relevant when you want to create your own server, and even then you'll always get it, even when everything is properly setup
as much as the trackmanias may rule, carmageddon 1 & 2 are still the best games ever :D

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 04 Jun 2010 11:25

no the thing is this message is shown when i start the game REGULARLY
i cant play the game at all that message shows when i click play and dosent go away.

that message pops up and 'ok' is greyed out so i cant click it, i left it there all night ( 8 hours ) and it still didnt let me click ok

Image

jamie_macdonald
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 1612
Joined: 10 Jul 2008 19:48
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF, TMS
Manialink(s): ET
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by jamie_macdonald » 04 Jun 2010 12:07

Hmmm i have never seen that box with the OK greyed out, ever :/

Wish i had any more suggetsion for you, allthough one "shot in the dark" might be to run it "as administrator" (right click, run as admin), just incase it is a permissions thing within windows (game used form the same profile it was installed from?)

I really have no idea other than that, i hope some-one can "nail" this for you.

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 05 Jun 2010 05:54

the only thing is that, im running this from steam and there is no run as administrator option. also im using windows 7

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by Racemaniac » 05 Jun 2010 09:46

ah, that's the problem. what firewall have you got?
wasn't it f-secure or something like that that blocked this?
as much as the trackmanias may rule, carmageddon 1 & 2 are still the best games ever :D

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 05 Jun 2010 13:02

well im using the default firewall that came with windows 7 but im also using avast antivirus im not using f-secure, BUT a friend told me it might be that im using a wireless usb key to get my internet.

jamie_macdonald
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 1612
Joined: 10 Jul 2008 19:48
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF, TMS
Manialink(s): ET
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by jamie_macdonald » 05 Jun 2010 13:34

westinger34 wrote:well im using the default firewall that came with windows 7 but im also using avast antivirus im not using f-secure, BUT a friend told me it might be that im using a wireless usb key to get my internet.
Mine's a belkin wireless g USB dongle thing too, netgear router. but works ok.

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 05 Jun 2010 14:16

well what happens is somtimes out of sheer luck im guessing, the game works but other times im not so lucky

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by Racemaniac » 05 Jun 2010 14:21

basically, something is blocking the connection test trackmania is doing.
we know that f-secure has this problem...
but if you can find other conditions that can produce this problem, it would be nice to know.
maybe a dodgy connection that locks up the check? could be if you say it's intermittent...
as much as the trackmanias may rule, carmageddon 1 & 2 are still the best games ever :D

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 05 Jun 2010 14:30

well, ****.

westinger34
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jun 2010 18:28
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: TrackMania Nations Forever Network Check

Post by westinger34 » 05 Jun 2010 16:05

could it be steam thats doing this?

Post Reply