Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Any problem ? Don't panic! We have the solution !

Moderator: TM-Patrol

ginister
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Aug 2010 22:13
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by ginister » 18 Aug 2010 22:16

Hello,
I have opened ports 2350 and 3450 and I am still getting this happening, please help! I really want to play TM :(

jamie_macdonald
speed demon
speed demon
Posts: 1612
Joined: 10 Jul 2008 19:48
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF, TMS
Manialink(s): ET
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by jamie_macdonald » 19 Aug 2010 08:59

Hi There,

What version of the game are you running? Is it up to Date?

What are you hardware specs? Are your G-Card drivers and Windows up to date?

With a little more information we can try to help. Also you could contact Nadeo with details of the issue at: support@tm-united.com (if United is the game you have issue with?)

I'll check back shortly see if i can help :thumbsup:

User avatar
Wolf68k
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 590
Joined: 23 Jan 2009 16:33
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMUF, TMNF
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by Wolf68k » 19 Aug 2010 15:18

What firewall and antivirus are you using?
TM name: wolf68k
Display name: Wolf68k (the 8 is actually white ingame, kinda hard to do here)

ginister
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Aug 2010 22:13
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by ginister » 19 Aug 2010 21:42

jamie_macdonald wrote:Hi There,

What version of the game are you running? Is it up to Date?

What are you hardware specs? Are your G-Card drivers and Windows up to date?

With a little more information we can try to help. Also you could contact Nadeo with details of the issue at: support@tm-united.com (if United is the game you have issue with?)

I'll check back shortly see if i can help :thumbsup:
Version: Not sure, but its the newest. Downloaded one off Steam, got error, so got another off Nadeo's site 2 days ago.

Hardware Specs. Cyri says its OK. My graphics card isnt great but it says it can operate with it. (heres some info
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26GHz
2.26 GHz Performance Rated at: 3.729 GHz
2.9GB (Ram)
Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2
Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
9.0c (Directx)
SoundMAX (audio)
55gb (hdd))

Hope that helps, ill contact nadeo ASAP

ginister
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Aug 2010 22:13
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by ginister » 19 Aug 2010 21:44

Wolf68k wrote:What firewall and antivirus are you using?
Firewall: Disabled Windows Firewall
Opened ports 2x50 and 3450 on BT homehub. (dont remeber exactly think they are right)
Can I check for extra firewalls? cant find one, though.

jamie_macdonald
speed demon
speed demon
Posts: 1612
Joined: 10 Jul 2008 19:48
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF, TMS
Manialink(s): ET
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by jamie_macdonald » 20 Aug 2010 11:07

ginister wrote:
jamie_macdonald wrote:Hi There,

What version of the game are you running? Is it up to Date?

What are you hardware specs? Are your G-Card drivers and Windows up to date?

With a little more information we can try to help. Also you could contact Nadeo with details of the issue at: support@tm-united.com (if United is the game you have issue with?)

I'll check back shortly see if i can help :thumbsup:
Version: Not sure, but its the newest. Downloaded one off Steam, got error, so got another off Nadeo's site 2 days ago.

Hardware Specs. Cyri says its OK. My graphics card isnt great but it says it can operate with it. (heres some info
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26GHz
2.26 GHz Performance Rated at: 3.729 GHz
2.9GB (Ram)
Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2
Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
9.0c (Directx)
SoundMAX (audio)
55gb (hdd))

Hope that helps, ill contact nadeo ASAP
The only thing i can tell from this is that your windows OS is not up to date ...I suggest this would be a first step with any problems you encounter (TM related or not).

Upgrade to SP3 and download all updates since then ... and try again :thumbsup:

The hardware specs are not awesome but they should be sufficient to run the game once the support files are updated (.net framework C++ etc (they will come from windows update with the SP3 and other updates).

Wish you luck ...and remember ..allways check things are up to date before asking for help :1

User avatar
Wolf68k
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 590
Joined: 23 Jan 2009 16:33
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMUF, TMNF
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by Wolf68k » 21 Aug 2010 17:05

The OS has nothing to do with it since I was playing TM back on XP Pro SP1 originally.
The CPU and RAM is fine as well
I would say it's the graphic card


If you're not running the game as a server then you don't need to open ports. It sounds like the BT homehub is your modem/router which uses a NAT firewall which opens outgoing ports as they are needed then auto closes them. It's why you don't need to open port 80, for example, to browse/surf the web.

I really need to get around to doing all of these tests I need to do, this would be the 3rd one I need to try out.

You never mentioned what antivirus you use.
TM name: wolf68k
Display name: Wolf68k (the 8 is actually white ingame, kinda hard to do here)

ginister
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Aug 2010 22:13
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by ginister » 21 Aug 2010 19:49

Wolf68k wrote:The OS has nothing to do with it since I was playing TM back on XP Pro SP1 originally.
The CPU and RAM is fine as well
I would say it's the graphic card


If you're not running the game as a server then you don't need to open ports. It sounds like the BT homehub is your modem/router which uses a NAT firewall which opens outgoing ports as they are needed then auto closes them. It's why you don't need to open port 80, for example, to browse/surf the web.

I really need to get around to doing all of these tests I need to do, this would be the 3rd one I need to try out.

You never mentioned what antivirus you use.
Windows Firewall and McAfee but Mcafee is outdated.

User avatar
Wolf68k
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 590
Joined: 23 Jan 2009 16:33
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMUF, TMNF
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by Wolf68k » 22 Aug 2010 04:10

Get rid of McAfee
I'm not saying that because I hate McAfee but because I hate AND because as you just said it's outdated.
If it's outdated then it's most likely not protecting you very well.
Get AntiVir free http://www.free-av.com/ it has a nag screen that comes up when it updates but seeing as how you're on XP Pro that's easy to suppress.

I'm not saying it'll fix your game problem but it'll fix your security problem.
TM name: wolf68k
Display name: Wolf68k (the 8 is actually white ingame, kinda hard to do here)

ginister
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Aug 2010 22:13
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by ginister » 22 Aug 2010 12:51

Wolf68k wrote:Get rid of McAfee
I'm not saying that because I hate McAfee but because I hate AND because as you just said it's outdated.
If it's outdated then it's most likely not protecting you very well.
Get AntiVir free http://www.free-av.com/ it has a nag screen that comes up when it updates but seeing as how you're on XP Pro that's easy to suppress.

I'm not saying it'll fix your game problem but it'll fix your security problem.
any ideas on what can fix my problem? Nadeo are closed until 5th Sept.

User avatar
Wolf68k
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 590
Joined: 23 Jan 2009 16:33
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMUF, TMNF
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by Wolf68k » 22 Aug 2010 18:11

The only other thing I can tell you is to exit out of ALL programs not needed to run Windows. Doesn't matter what it is, kill it.
If it's something do with your graphics card, then you can keep that.
If you don't know what it is, do a Google search for the process name and you should find out if you really need it or not.
TM name: wolf68k
Display name: Wolf68k (the 8 is actually white ingame, kinda hard to do here)

ginister
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Aug 2010 22:13
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by ginister » 23 Aug 2010 21:37

Wolf68k wrote:The only other thing I can tell you is to exit out of ALL programs not needed to run Windows. Doesn't matter what it is, kill it.
If it's something do with your graphics card, then you can keep that.
If you don't know what it is, do a Google search for the process name and you should find out if you really need it or not.
What can I keep?
Arg, what do I do! Can I not play this game? ;(

User avatar
Wolf68k
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 590
Joined: 23 Jan 2009 16:33
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMUF, TMNF
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by Wolf68k » 24 Aug 2010 17:34

Start->Run type: msconfig
Click on the Startup tab
Uncheck everything but for igfx or something like that which is the Intel Graphics drivers
Click OK, it'll ask to Restart so do that
When you come back MSconfig will likely come back up, just ignore it. Run the game and see what happens.
TM name: wolf68k
Display name: Wolf68k (the 8 is actually white ingame, kinda hard to do here)

ginister
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Aug 2010 22:13
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by ginister » 27 Aug 2010 21:36

Wolf68k wrote:Start->Run type: msconfig
Click on the Startup tab
Uncheck everything but for igfx or something like that which is the Intel Graphics drivers
Click OK, it'll ask to Restart so do that
When you come back MSconfig will likely come back up, just ignore it. Run the game and see what happens.
not working :/

ginister
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 Aug 2010 22:13
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: Game gets stuck on Please Wait... screen

Post by ginister » 05 Sep 2010 22:28

Hello again, it may be that my graphics card cannot fully render 3d, can i turn off ingame 3d somehow?

Post Reply