ServerMania General Discussion [v1.00 - 26/10/11]

This is the forum for ServerMania which is a graphical dedicated server controller software written in .NET framework.

Moderators: Cyrlaur, TM-Patrol

Post Reply
Cyrlaur
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 889
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:49
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMU
Manialink(s): Cyrlaur
Location: France
Contact:

ServerMania General Discussion [v1.00 - 26/10/11]

Post by Cyrlaur » 17 Dec 2005 22:53

Server Mania :

Introduction :
ServerMania is a software designed to make easier launch, control and configuration of a TrackMania dedicated server.
With an intuitive GUI and its many possibilies it makes easier to create, personalize, and administrate a TrackMania dedicated server.

Installation :
To Install ServerMania, dowload and open this file : ServerMania_setup.exe. (Available on http://cyrlaur.free.fr/ServerMania in dowload section)
The ServerMania's install program will be launched. Then follow instructions displayed on screen.
A "binary" version is also available on the site. This version is made for a quick upgrade of the software (without uninstall/reinstall)

Warning : ServerMania requires .NET Framework 2.0 to be able to run !

Image

You can find a quick configuration guide on the following post.
Report here your suggestions, problems and feelings ;)

Have fun on servers :)

ServerMania : http://cyrlaur.free.fr/ServerMania
Last edited by Cyrlaur on 19 Apr 2008 20:12, edited 26 times in total.

Cyrlaur
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 889
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:49
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMU
Manialink(s): Cyrlaur
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Cyrlaur » 17 Dec 2005 22:53

FAQ :

- How to quickly setup ServerMania ? :
After ServerMania has been installed :

Launch ServerMania, then go to "Server List" tab.
Click "Add" to create a new server.
Choose the server type on the displayed window (choose "Local" if you don't know what it is).
On currently displayed window fulfil the following options :

- "General" tab :
Name : This is the name that will appear in your server list (if it's a new server this will also be the in game name of the server but the tow are independent).
Server Directory : The location where you put the "TrackManiaServer.exe" (dedicated server). if you don't have the required files ServerMania will download them for you (thoose file are available on ServerMania website too)
Default Match Setting File (Game mod, track playlist, ...) : This file can be create by the game (see server creation in the game) or via ServerMania (see "Overview" tab -> "Save MatchSettings" after server has been launched with a valid playlist).
- "Network" tab :
Check the "Internet server" box to create an internet server (if not server will be a LAN server)
fulfill the "Internet Account" section : Login and Password. If you have not any dedicated server account to create internet dedicated server you can do it by clicking on the "Create account" link or at the following address : http://official.trackmania.com/tmf-dedicated/ (TMUF)
TMNF player will have to create another account by using the game and use it to create a TMNF dedicated server.

Click on "Ok" to validate the creation of your new server.
Go back to "Start" tab.
Select your server in the dropdown list.
Click on "Connect", server is being launched ...

- I try to connect/launch my server but I have the following message "Could not connect to server". What should I do ? :
Go to "Server List" tab and choose your server. Then click on "Modify".
Change the xml-rpc port option to a different value on "Network" tab (It must be >= 5000)
Click "Ok" to validate changes and then go back to "Start" tab and try to connect/launch again the server.

Also check this :
- Make sure there is not any firewall blocking this port.
- If your run several servers at the same time make sure that you use different server and xml-rpc port for each running server.

Known Issues :
- Issue : /
:arrow: Solution : /
Last edited by Cyrlaur on 21 Mar 2007 19:04, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Post by BLaHiTiS » 18 Dec 2005 00:05

cyrlaur, in my arms !!
(or then again maybe not if you dont like ) :P

update:

aarg, big problem running it on the remote server, it needs ".net frame work 2) they didn't install this :(

So i tried it locally, and i already have a bug :). its when you download new tracks with tm exchange and try to go out of the map, and back into it in the program that it gives this error. I was trying to see if it is possible to add newly downloaded maps to the dedicated server on the fly. (when it's running)

Code: Select all

See the end of this message for details on invoking 
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
CookComputing.XmlRpc.XmlRpcFaultException: Server returned a fault exception. - Challenge unknown.
   at CookComputing.XmlRpc.XmlRpcSerializer.DeserializeResponse(XmlDocument xdoc, Type returnType)
   at CookComputing.XmlRpc.XmlRpcClientProtocol.InvokeViaSocket(Object clientObj, String methodName, String url, Object[] parameters)
   at CookComputing.XmlRpc.XmlRpcClientProtocol.Invoke(Object clientObj, String methodName, Object[] parameters)
   at CookComputing.XmlRpc.XmlRpcClientProtocol.Invoke(String MethodName, Object[] Parameters)
   at XmlRpcProxyc3737dd5-1265-4b52-8dd8-aeb94d23dd30.GetChallengeInfo(String )
   at Server_Manager.Server_Manager.MainForm.Refresh_LocalChallenge()
   at Server_Manager.Server_Manager.MainForm.ListViewLocalChallenge_DoubleClick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnDoubleClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListView.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
ServerMania
    Assembly Version: 0.5.5.2982
    Win32 Version: 0.5.5.2982
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/ServerMania/ServerMania.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
DedicatedServer
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2155.42236
    Win32 Version: 1.0.2155.42236
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/ServerMania/DedicatedServer.DLL
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
XmlRpcDotNet
    Assembly Version: 0.9.1.0
    Win32 Version: 0.9.1.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/ServerMania/XmlRpcDotNet.DLL
----------------------------------------
XmlRpcProxyc3737dd5-1265-4b52-8dd8-aeb94d23dd30
    Assembly Version: 1.0.2155.42236
    Win32 Version: 0.9.1.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/ServerMania/XmlRpcDotNet.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
When I quit the servermania application and restarted it again, it gave an error that the server reported "challenge un known". No doubt thats the limitation being that the server can't see newly uploaded files when its running...
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

Cyrlaur
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 889
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:49
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMU
Manialink(s): Cyrlaur
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Cyrlaur » 18 Dec 2005 02:22

Yes .NET Framework 2.0 is obligatory :?

BTW your're right ... I'll have to have a look at this :)

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Post by BLaHiTiS » 18 Dec 2005 10:45

I think your tool helps a big way in speeding up managment on the fly (the biggest limitation still being the server that can't recognize maps befor restarting)...

but at least it's possible to do random map listing and this is a very big milestone in achieving server flexibility..

a few things:

- You describe the mapnames and environments, this way : could you maybe insert an up/down command or "order" command that enables a playlist to be distributing their environments ? like: one environment at a time bay/coast/island, or maybe 2 x bay, then 2 x coast and 2 x island (as alternat solution for the random function ?)

this one can order variety of environments or maplengths so people won't get bored :)

- when in the chat/players window, you always need to drag the scrollbar down to see the latest chats, can you fix this so it always scrolls down to the latest chats ?

^^
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

Rax
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 473
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 18:47
Location: England, United Kingdom

Post by Rax » 18 Dec 2005 13:54

isnt net framework 2 supposed to be really buggy, and is it backward compatable with previouts versions? as bf2cc which i use says not to use 2.0 :S

Cyrlaur
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 889
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:49
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMU
Manialink(s): Cyrlaur
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Cyrlaur » 18 Dec 2005 21:56

BLaHiTiS wrote:- You describe the mapnames and environments, this way : could you maybe insert an up/down command or "order" command that enables a playlist to be distributing their environments ? like: one environment at a time bay/coast/island, or maybe 2 x bay, then 2 x coast and 2 x island (as alternat solution for the random function ?)

this one can order variety of environments or maplengths so people won't get bored :)
Nice idea ... It's conceivable ... maybe with time.
BLaHiTiS wrote:- when in the chat/players window, you always need to drag the scrollbar down to see the latest chats, can you fix this so it always scrolls down to the latest chats ?
Yep I know this ... but I don't know how chat software avoid the refresh problem ... but I'll try to find a solution :)
Rax wrote:isnt net framework 2 supposed to be really buggy, and is it backward compatable with previouts versions? as bf2cc which i use says not to use 2.0 :S
I can't say much about it, I have no problem with it. As much as I know 1.x version are not known to be less buggy ^^

User avatar
NazguL
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 861
Joined: 16 Aug 2005 17:34
Owned TM-games: All TM games
Manialink(s): NazguL
Location: Near Paris
Contact:

Post by NazguL » 18 Dec 2005 22:25

Cyrlaur wrote:Yep I know this ... but I don't know how chat software avoid the refresh problem ... but I'll try to find a solution :)
Maybe you could add the string at the top of the list ?
I can't say much about it, I have no problem with it. As much as I know 1.x version are not known to be less buggy ^^
the display is very slow on my computer.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
ATI radeon X1900GT (256Mo)
3GB DDR2
Sound Chipset Realteck ALC883 (+ SBLive)
Playing with keyboard
Windows XP Pro SP2

Cyrlaur
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 889
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:49
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMU
Manialink(s): Cyrlaur
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Cyrlaur » 18 Dec 2005 23:12

NazguL wrote:
Cyrlaur wrote:Yep I know this ... but I don't know how chat software avoid the refresh problem ... but I'll try to find a solution :)
Maybe you could add the string at the top of the list ?
I don't really see what you mean :?

By the way just one word to say that it's impossible to add a challenge while server is already launched. It's a dedicated server's restriction :?
In next version, it will display it/them in the local list (instead of the "Unknow challenge" error) but you won't be able to add it/them on server anyway.

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Post by BLaHiTiS » 19 Dec 2005 00:57

yep, I know its a dedicated server limitation and I asked hylis.. I thought it was as simple as adding the ingame refresh option but appearently its much harder when you are serving a game constantly like the server does... it would have been cool though...

but the tools that exist are none the lest boosting the interactivity with the admin and the server like 1000%,

in time maybe with a huge database of maps one doesnt really need the "refresh on the fly for challenges" because you can always chose new or old maps to be added or to remove them...

I always like to hop on to the remote system when people start complaining about too much bay.. and then maybe choose a set of lighter maps that arn't so hard... in time you can create directories like these that will satisfy everyone....
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

Skubidou
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 235
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 16:38
Owned TM-games: tmo-tms-tmu

Post by Skubidou » 19 Dec 2005 09:34

Rax wrote:isnt net framework 2 supposed to be really buggy, and is it backward compatable with previouts versions? as bf2cc which i use says not to use 2.0 :S
Is Net 2.0 supposed to replace Net 1 (and backward compatible)? I have installed several computer last day at work, and:
- If a computer has net 1.1SP1, installing Net 2.0 does not delete net 1.1. The 1.1 is still there in the control panel (and there are no net 2.0 configuration icon)
- If a computer (XP SP1, with net 1.0 i think) is install with Net 2.0,when you make a windowsupdate, it install net 1.1
So i'm not sure net 2.0 is suppose to work for net 1 application, like you need the vbrun version used for your program.

Skubidou:~

User avatar
TrabTowN
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 789
Joined: 03 Nov 2005 14:30
Owned TM-games: TMS,tmn,TMU
Location: Ireland/orginal SACHSE^^
Contact:

Post by TrabTowN » 19 Dec 2005 19:29

hi... very nice one^^

but i get all the time a window Error: Root element is missing.
can start the server but see no infos or avything, only that failure...

Thx
Tr@b
100²% addicted
Image
Image

Cyrlaur
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 889
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:49
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMU
Manialink(s): Cyrlaur
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Cyrlaur » 19 Dec 2005 20:04

TrabTowN wrote:hi... very nice one^^

but i get all the time a window Error: Root element is missing.
can start the server but see no infos or avything, only that failure...

Thx
Tr@b
If you have already launched the game :
Exit TM and then run dedicated server with ServerMania then launch the your game.

Else
Try to close and relaunch ServerMania wihtout closing the dedicated server.

I don't see anything else.

User avatar
TrabTowN
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 789
Joined: 03 Nov 2005 14:30
Owned TM-games: TMS,tmn,TMU
Location: Ireland/orginal SACHSE^^
Contact:

Post by TrabTowN » 19 Dec 2005 20:42

no.... still the same thing happend... got the latest .Net installed to....

here a screen shot
100²% addicted
Image
Image

Cyrlaur
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 889
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:49
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMU
Manialink(s): Cyrlaur
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Cyrlaur » 19 Dec 2005 22:54

Seems like it can't see the server and I can't do much about it.

Could you try with the gamecontroller from Nadeo ?
If gamecontroller can't see your server ... I'll not be able to do anything more at this time :?

Post Reply