Trackmania2 Beta???

Discuss anticipation, facts and video's of the newly announced Trackmania 2 game!

Moderators: Alinoa, TM-Patrol

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Zooz » 01 Oct 2009 13:54

But people who just want to play are pretty much useless for testing. Also, they will think they have rights to stuff like keeping their coppers from the alpha "because i paid for it damnit", which is stupid in a test.

User avatar
Klompie
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 42
Joined: 22 Nov 2006 01:14
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMU/TMUF
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Klompie » 01 Oct 2009 14:45

Zooz wrote:But people who just want to play are pretty much useless for testing. Also, they will think they have rights to stuff like keeping their coppers from the alpha "because i paid for it damnit", which is stupid in a test.
So what you're saying is for instance:
Testing would be interesting for all that dig into the technical specs of the game en people that build , or want to build in all the environments of TM2.
However I am sure that while just plain racing with a lotta people might come up with some bugs as well..
And towards the coppers... I'd say nice once the game is released, but not in testgames, it has proven that it works so the need for testing including coppers would not be relevant.
Don't drink 'n drive: :1 :pil :roflol:
Image

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Mac Matrix » 01 Oct 2009 20:43

I couldn't give a rats ass about coppers.

I've got 20K and two TMU accounts, what more do I need? :roflol:

I just want to play TM2 and help Nadeo to perfect it. :)
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

User avatar
Klompie
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 42
Joined: 22 Nov 2006 01:14
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMU/TMUF
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Klompie » 02 Oct 2009 23:00

Mac Matrix wrote:I couldn't give a rats ass about coppers.

I've got 20K and two TMU accounts, what more do I need? :roflol:

:)
TM2 maybe?? :roflol:
Image

Skubidou
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 235
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 16:38
Owned TM-games: tmo-tms-tmu

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Skubidou » 04 Oct 2009 07:54

Zooz wrote:I can only think of disadvantages for a paid alpha (although it depends on how big it is as well). Maybe that was a mistranslation? ^^
No mistranslation :wink:

Hylis said a Beta is a version already containing every feature, and only tested for bugs reports, ... with no more modification to the base

TM2 will have for example the maniascripts, where Nadeo is still not sure about the limits, the utility, ... (depends on players use/need). So the idea was to sell the game as an alpha version (you don't pay to access the apha, but buy the game, have direct access to the alpha and will get the final release). Like this, they can develop the Alpha, Beta, .. with the players, with the ability to add/remove feature after players comments.

Skubidou:~

User avatar
otmb;ripbox
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 854
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 22:10
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMO, TMS
Contact:

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by otmb;ripbox » 04 Oct 2009 11:47

lol..... you would be extremely upset if you paid for the game(alpha) and during testing Nadeo became bankrupt and you never ever saw a final release, silly idea TBH :lol:
Image
* Core 2 Quad Q6600
* Abit IN9 32 MAX Motherboard
* 8 GB OCZ 4GB PC2-6400 nVIDIA SLI-Ready Edition (4X2GB)
* AMP! GeForce GTX 260² 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 x 1
* 150GB Raptor HDD
* 500GB Caviar HDD
* Vista Ultimate x64
* Thermaltake W0133RB 1200W PSU

jamie_macdonald
speed demon
speed demon
Posts: 1612
Joined: 10 Jul 2008 19:48
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF, TMS
Manialink(s): ET
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by jamie_macdonald » 04 Oct 2009 21:23

i would pre-buy it with nadeo anyday ...purely as a reward for so many years TM'ing.

i allready have 9 paid TMU accounts in my directory :lol:

Skubidou
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 235
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 16:38
Owned TM-games: tmo-tms-tmu

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Skubidou » 04 Oct 2009 21:33

If Nadeo is bankrupt, the TMUF, TMN, TMO, ... central servers will be shutdown and you will stay with the offline solo only...not better :wink:

TM2 pre-paid : Risk capital with good return investment (i hope...this is the risk :mrgreen: )

Skubidou:~

Tom.CZ.73
speed demon
speed demon
Posts: 1623
Joined: 08 Mar 2006 17:10
Owned TM-games: all PC versions
Manialink(s): Tom.CZ.73, sQs
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Tom.CZ.73 » 05 Oct 2009 15:11

If Nadeo is bankrupt, the TMUF, TMN, TMO, ... central servers will be shutdown and you will stay with the offline solo only...not better :wink:
In such case our games would be downgraded to TMnf solo :roflol:

LegoChesser
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 11 Apr 2008 15:40
Owned TM-games: TM,TMSX,TMN,TMUF,DS
Manialink(s): maniaspace?user=lego_chesser
Location: Netherlands

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by LegoChesser » 05 Oct 2009 16:20

I don't care if I've to pay a lil' bit for the TM2 Alpha/Beta. Who here doens't want to play TM2?
But I think tm ManiaScript concept will take the most of the time during the development. :)
Join the Bomberman Group today! If you want to join, please send a PM!
ImageImage
ImageImage

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Zooz » 06 Oct 2009 11:55

Skubidou wrote:
Zooz wrote:I can only think of disadvantages for a paid alpha (although it depends on how big it is as well). Maybe that was a mistranslation? ^^
No mistranslation :wink:

Hylis said a Beta is a version already containing every feature, and only tested for bugs reports, ... with no more modification to the base

TM2 will have for example the maniascripts, where Nadeo is still not sure about the limits, the utility, ... (depends on players use/need). So the idea was to sell the game as an alpha version (you don't pay to access the apha, but buy the game, have direct access to the alpha and will get the final release). Like this, they can develop the Alpha, Beta, .. with the players, with the ability to add/remove feature after players comments.
Yeah it makes a bit more sense with the additional info that you also pay for the final version when you pay for the alpha ^^

Gekko
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 550
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 18:20
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: Naples - Italy
Contact:

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Gekko » 06 Oct 2009 12:09

Hi Zooz,

do you think dedicated server will be alive under Ubisoft or will they let us open a sort of rooms to create a own server but stricted to their ones?
I am against the room kind of multiplayer (cut the players creativity) but i wanna know your mind on this.

Another important features is ManiaScripts.
Surely i will test them when the TM2 documentation come out.

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Zooz » 06 Oct 2009 22:29

If you look in my profile here, you'll see

Occupation: NOT NADEO

:roflol:

I have no idea what Nadeo or Ubisoft's plans are, but if they're continuing with Trackmania I don't see why they would change existing things that work (such as the dedicated server) and I also don't see how Florent would let such a thing happen :mrgreen:

Gekko
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 550
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 18:20
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: Naples - Italy
Contact:

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by Gekko » 07 Oct 2009 08:50

Thx Zooz,

i asked this to have another old player opinion.
Well so i will wait the ManiaScript to test them on all the Manialink bugs of TMFX.

I'm very happy for a more complex scripting for TM!!!!
:roflol:

User avatar
w1lla
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 1466
Joined: 23 May 2007 07:20
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMF
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Venray

Re: Trackmania2 Beta???

Post by w1lla » 07 Oct 2009 10:23

Isnt the manialink system built on maniascript.

You can make own .xml pages.

There some things like maniacup etc. that use this new type of system.

If you want you can try and make your own system like the one that is being used or use the existing code of maniacode and manialink.

Let your dreams take you no other than those that take you there.

Code: Select all

tmnforever is nations and united makes it special. tmnforever has united. I need united!

Post Reply