How to change the background?

Find here all the Mods of the Community. For more mods you can go on TM Mods: http://www.tmmod.info/

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Post Reply
User avatar
Jelle Mees
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 274
Joined: 02 May 2006 08:49
Owned TM-games: TMUF
Location: Belgium ( Limburg )
Contact:

How to change the background?

Post by Jelle Mees » 02 Jun 2008 12:10

Trackmania Nations contains many beatifull backgrounds:

Image

The problem is that they are always so damn blurry. The in-game sunset background looks nothing like this.

And it's not like this is not possible, because the backgrounds in Trackmania United Forever are beatifull, just like the original .dds files.

Has anyone figured out how to create a high-quality in-game background?
ImageImage
Image

User avatar
MuLoO
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 351
Joined: 31 Jan 2008 19:06
Owned TM-games: TMO / TMU-F
Manialink(s): muloo
Location: Belgium Brussels

Re: How to change the background?

Post by MuLoO » 02 Jun 2008 15:52

if you are an artist it is verry easy, if not ... be inventive like goolge 'panorama" ex: http://www.oderwald.nl/michiel/montblan ... norama.jpg and convert it to dds
or justtake your cam. and make some panorama shots

no? :scene:
Click the image to join The Power System server
Imagecolor>
Sponsored by Playfaster.net

Xfire: muloo
Burn rubber, not your soul !

User avatar
Jelle Mees
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 274
Joined: 02 May 2006 08:49
Owned TM-games: TMUF
Location: Belgium ( Limburg )
Contact:

Re: How to change the background?

Post by Jelle Mees » 02 Jun 2008 16:00

Did you read the entire message, or just the title?

I know how to create .dds files. What I don't understand is why in the Stadium, the backgrounds don't exist.
The image I posted is "Sunset", now tell me if you see that in the background when you select "Sunset" in the editor.
I'll answer for you...NO.
ImageImage
Image

User avatar
MuLoO
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 351
Joined: 31 Jan 2008 19:06
Owned TM-games: TMO / TMU-F
Manialink(s): muloo
Location: Belgium Brussels

Re: How to change the background?

Post by MuLoO » 02 Jun 2008 16:29

lol, yes i have red it but it looks like you havn't red mine, nowhere i speak about hawto creating a dds file...

your Q : "Has anyone figured out how to create a high-quality in-game background?" and my answer is just a high-quality pic to use ingame
You are posting in mod so i assumed that you know about EnvCubic.dds and EnvCubicSpecA.dds, these are the background files of stadium
Click the image to join The Power System server
Imagecolor>
Sponsored by Playfaster.net

Xfire: muloo
Burn rubber, not your soul !

User avatar
Jelle Mees
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 274
Joined: 02 May 2006 08:49
Owned TM-games: TMUF
Location: Belgium ( Limburg )
Contact:

Re: How to change the background?

Post by Jelle Mees » 02 Jun 2008 18:07

It doesn't seem to work. But if you know how to do it, can you give me a mod where the background looks real and realistic, then I see how and then I can create my own.
ImageImage
Image

Post Reply