First person camera

General Discussion about Trackmania Nations ESWC.

Moderator: TM-Patrol

DreamMystic
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Apr 2008 18:15
Owned TM-games: None

First person camera

Post by DreamMystic » 19 Apr 2008 20:21

Is there anyway to disable going into first person while driving up loops? I don't have a problem with that directly, though I don't prefer it. The big problem is that on a few tracks
after doing a loop it stays in first person. So I have to drive through obstacles that way until the game decides its going to go back into 3rd person. It couldn't be so bad if it showed
your tires so I could see the depth of my vehicle. But driving in first person and expecting to always go through lets say two cylinders side by side can be very hard.

Thanks!

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: First person camera

Post by Zooz » 19 Apr 2008 20:28

No. The track author controls it. Don't play on bad tracks :mrgreen:

DreamMystic
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Apr 2008 18:15
Owned TM-games: None

Re: First person camera

Post by DreamMystic » 19 Apr 2008 20:45

Zooz wrote:No. The track author controls it. Don't play on bad tracks :mrgreen:
But they are the official tracks! I'm hellbent on getting all gold medals, I've gotten all of them except one so far. Even with how difficult those tracks that force first person are. I was just hoping there was a way to make things a bit easier.

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: First person camera

Post by Retodon8 » 19 Apr 2008 21:50

I haven't encountered an official track where that didn't work properly yet.
Those kind of camera switches are done with a feature called MediaTracker, the same program (inside the game) used to make intro movies.
The switch to first person either lasts X seconds, or last from the start of the loop (or wherever the track creator wants) until the end of the loop (or again wherever).
I think both are possible options, but I haven't played with MediaTracker yet.

Either way, if the first thing's the case, the X could be too high a number, or in the second case, maybe you missed driving through the end-first-person-here-thingy, or the track author forgot to put it in.

Aaaaaaaanyway, you can use your keyboard buttons to change perspective.
By default you can use the numeric keypad, keys 1 through 3 should do.
You can also set those options to your gamepad/controller/joystick if you want.
It's in the Profile menu, and then Input, or something like that.
It's a workaround at least. :)
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

DreamMystic
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Apr 2008 18:15
Owned TM-games: None

Re: First person camera

Post by DreamMystic » 19 Apr 2008 23:53

When the first person camera is forced, it doesn't allow you to change back to third person until you complete the loop or get to a certain part of the track were it changes it back to 3rd person automatically. Its a very annoying feature.

UKFC»ACE
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 203
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 19:50
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF
Location: Dublin, IRELAND

Re: First person camera

Post by UKFC»ACE » 20 Apr 2008 00:44

Yea I have noticed quiet a few of the official stadium tracks use FP camera on the regular roads. Don't mind it myself.

Paedur
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 11
Joined: 09 Jan 2008 13:56
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: First person camera

Post by Paedur » 20 Apr 2008 00:46

I found it very annoying at first (actually more the helicopter view on some TMU tracks), but you get used to it. Only time I still find it a problem is when I manage to miss the end trigger point (usually by crashing :p).

User avatar
jedimario
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 60
Joined: 02 Apr 2008 20:01
Owned TM-games: TMN, TMNF
Location: Clemson University
Contact:

Re: First person camera

Post by jedimario » 20 Apr 2008 22:01

You don't want the camera to switch on you if you're just coming off a loop with some sort of difficult track section in front of it. 1. it takes time for the game to change the view and 2. it takes time for you to adjust to the new view, time that you spend hoping to get lucky. It may only be a small fraction of a second, but that's enough to screw you up in some cases.
Image

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: First person camera

Post by Retodon8 » 20 Apr 2008 22:37

Indeed, that's why sometimes it's better for the first person view to remain for a bit longer after the loop.
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

redi
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Apr 2008 20:37
Owned TM-games: TMNF, TMN, TMS
Location: Eindhoven, NL

Re: First person camera

Post by redi » 21 Apr 2008 11:47

I don't like those perspective changes either, though I'm starting to get used to it. And it does give you a great sense of speed, adding to the fun factor (especially on a 20" widescreen monitor :wink: :D ).

User avatar
G2Wolf
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 16
Joined: 22 Apr 2008 01:27
Owned TM-games: TMUF
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

Re: First person camera

Post by G2Wolf » 22 Apr 2008 01:37

First person camera changes don't bother me. I don't ever even notice them....

Gotta love using 1st person view as my default view :D
Image

User avatar
surt
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Apr 2008 13:40
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: First person camera

Post by surt » 22 Apr 2008 13:45

The automatic camera changes really throw me off and I really wish there was a way to disable them.

While I may suffer this in a free game, it's putting me off paying for TMUF unless perhaps it has the option to disable it.

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: First person camera

Post by Retodon8 » 23 Apr 2008 18:07

Retodon8 wrote:One positive point of the forced cameras is that it's possible to create (fair) Micro Machines/Death Rally/GeneRally/Rock N' Roll Racing/Championship Pro AM/etc. (top down view) kind of tracks.
Those things are pretty fun if you mix them up with the more regular races every now and again.
Last edited by Retodon8 on 29 Apr 2008 23:11, edited 1 time in total.
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: First person camera

Post by Trackmaniack » 25 Apr 2008 01:50

Hey, as long as we're on the subject of cameras....why does it say here http://www.tm-creative.org/tutorials/me ... /index.php that the orbital cam (Num7) follow your car, when it hasn't for me since Sunrise?
And another question....in Sunrise, how come it says there are nine options for cameras in the control setup screen, but there really are only three? I really want to know this, so I'm going to keep pestering people until I get an answer...
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: First person camera

Post by Trackmaniack » 26 Apr 2008 16:25

Helloo? Anybody out there?
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

Post Reply