TMO on Windows Vista

General discussion about Trackmania Original.

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Zooz » 23 Jan 2008 19:27

Well, some players concluded that based on anecdotical evidence. It's up to you whether you believe it or not.

You can find the patch by hitting the Update button in the launcher. Or try looking for LevelUp patch, as it was officially called.

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 23 Jan 2008 19:48

Zooz wrote:Well, some players concluded that based on anecdotical evidence. It's up to you whether you believe it or not.

You can find the patch by hitting the Update button in the launcher. Or try looking for LevelUp patch, as it was officially called.
Well, see, I have both the TM to original patch, then the 1.5.0 to 1.5.2 patch, and when I try to use the second patch, it says that "Trackmania Original was not found on your computer" or something like that. So, I'll hunt for the "LevelUp" patch and see if that works...
-EDIT: Did some looking....and realized that the LevelUp patch is the same as downloading the "original" expansion....so I've updated the game as far as I can...still no dice on Vista, Zooz...
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Zooz » 23 Jan 2008 20:26

Hmm, ok. Well then it's up to Nadeo i guess...

Zahl
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 114
Joined: 18 Jul 2006 22:37
Owned TM-games: TM, TMU
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Zahl » 05 Mar 2008 23:56

Sooo, to give some additional information on this (more or less useful, as you will see)

1st: I'm using Win2003, so the results of my experimenting *might* be pointless for
Vista users, but hey, I was bored so I started playing around with the patch...
So what did I do?
Well I own the german PowerUp Version of TM (Should be 1.2.5)
Updated to Original (1.5.0)
Now tried to install the patch (1.5.2), but the installer claimed I don't have
Original on my PC. Fired up Regmon to find out where the installer tries to
get its information from. Faked the missing keys into the registry, so the
installer finally worked and I updated to 1.5.2... Yay, the new Starforce
dialog box looks like TMU's now (asks me for a reboot, so I did).
And after the reboot.... It asked me to insert the TMO Disk... o.O

So it seems (like others already claimed here) that this patch really ONLY
works for the TMO-out-of-the-box Version you can buy. It won't recognise
your TM PowerUp (or older) disk anymore.
No luck for PowerUp-Disk owners... OR maybe its really just because
I'm using Win2003, but I doubt that.
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.7GHz; 4GB RAM Corsair; Gf8800GTS; WinXPSP3; Samsung 223BW

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 06 Mar 2008 18:56

Well, if that really did work, then you could always hunt around for a TMO No-CD patch....
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 23 Mar 2008 04:54

Well, I wouldn't exactly call it a solution, but try it out...see if you can get better results than I did. http://www.virtualbox.org
It's basically a windows emulator, but here's the catch: you have to have old windows install discs of the OS you want to use....at least I did. Anyhoo, try it...when I tried to install TMO, it installed fine, yada yada, but then when it said "Application installed successfully, reboot computer?" and I did, when it rebooted, it came up the blue screen of death. So, worked....sorta. <_< Little help, anybody?
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
pobmaestro
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 374
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 19:46
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMUF, TMWii
Location: UK

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by pobmaestro » 23 Mar 2008 11:27

Just wait until Trackmania Forever is released and settled, and maybe then we can try ask Nadeo to fix this properly :D

For those with Trackmania United already, you can just copy the original campaign (and music, skins etc.) into TMU, and I don't think there would be many TMO servers left anyway. If you don't have TMU already, just get that. Its cheap to buy and contains all the environments anyway ;)

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 23 Mar 2008 14:20

Well, I would have by now, except for the fact that I haven't found a single store that sells it in the States, and I'm still wary about buying overseas after a friend of mine got burned....not the sellers fault, but the box was dropped by probably a careless worker or something, and when he got his item, the glass had cracked and it was ruined.
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
pobmaestro
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 374
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 19:46
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMUF, TMWii
Location: UK

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by pobmaestro » 23 Mar 2008 20:49

Is there no online stores in the States which sells it? You could always download it via something like Steam if you got a decent connection ;)

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 25 Mar 2008 22:29

Well, see, there's a problem there too. I would, except I thought I heard somewhere that you couldn't import custom cars....


Back to the VirtualBox issue, though....I think that my problem is that I have no drivers on my PC, according to VB's interpretation...I installed XP, but none of the drivers onto my virtual hard drive....but, when I tried to use the CD with the drivers on it, it said, "This software is only meant to be installed on a Dell computer. This CD does not recognize this computer as a Dell Computer, and will now exit." So, anybody got any ideas where I can go to find drivers?
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

hiuspaa
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Apr 2008 11:11
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMN, TMU
Manialink(s): hiuspaa

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by hiuspaa » 09 Apr 2008 12:50

I got TMO working on Vista x64 SP1.

I just bought the game from Play.com, it's a rerelease by Xplosiv. (http://www.play.com/Games/PC/4-/3510431 ... oduct.html)

The game in the cd is version 1.52, so you need to upgrade your game to that version. What I did was, that I started the TMOLauncher by right-clicking it and choosing "Run as administrator". Then I accepted the UAC warnings, and went on. Running the game as administrator is imperative, because otherwise the game can't install the required drivers for the copy protection! Once it had the first time installed the drivers, the game asked to reboot the computer, so I did it.

Now TMO works fine on my vista. :D

Just a recap:
1. Patch the game to 1.52.
2. Run TmOriginalLauncher.exe by right-clicking it and choosing "Run as administrator"
3. Install the driver the game asks you to install.
4. Reboot your computer.
5. Run the game again with "Run as administrator" (not sure if you have to, that's what I've been doing.)
6. (Hopefully) enjoy the game!

Please let me know, if this works for you..

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 10 Apr 2008 13:04

But see, your problem is you have TMO....I just have TM.
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

chtxdrgn
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 May 2008 15:38
Owned TM-games: TMO

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by chtxdrgn » 24 May 2008 15:46

Isn't TMO the same as TM though?

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 25 May 2008 03:24

Not quite. That's what I thought at first too. However, TM, which is just Trackmania, was the first TM game released by Nadeo; no upgrades, no bells and whistles, blah blah blah. A few years later, after they released TMSunrise, Nadeo upgraded Trackmania with the Sunrise graphics engine and added a mediatracker and replay editor and such in an upgrade called Power-Up. Later, they released the whole thing in one CD called Trackmania Original. I just have the first version.
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
pobmaestro
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 374
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 19:46
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMUF, TMWii
Location: UK

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by pobmaestro » 25 May 2008 11:19

I would bring this problem to the attention of Nadeo, but I don't really see the point with United out. If enough people voice that they want to play TM1 on Vista again then I guess we could see what we can do ;)

Post Reply