TMO on Windows Vista

General discussion about Trackmania Original.

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Zooz » 25 May 2008 14:20

Its impossible that they don't know about it already...
But if enough people ask about it, maybe it'll go up in their priorities list.

Mixo
road tourist
road tourist
Posts: 97
Joined: 04 Jan 2008 03:27
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Manialink(s): Mix

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Mixo » 25 May 2008 17:21

Trackmaniack wrote:Not quite. That's what I thought at first too. However, TM, which is just Trackmania, was the first TM game released by Nadeo; no upgrades, no bells and whistles, blah blah blah. A few years later, after they released TMSunrise, Nadeo upgraded Trackmania with the Sunrise graphics engine and added a mediatracker and replay editor and such in an upgrade called Power-Up. Later, they released the whole thing in one CD called Trackmania Original. I just have the first version.
Not quite. ;) The first TM was just Trackmania as you say. I think strictly speaking this was version 0.0.1.0 but many people refer to it as 1.0.0. Then there was 1.1.0, which was still called just TrackMania. It was a bugfix patch, no new blocks or anything like that. A few months (not years) later an update called PowerUp (version 1.2.5) was released. It had new blocks and some other changes but the graphics engine was the same and no mediatracker or replay editor. Then Sunrise was released (version 1.4.7) which was of course a completely different game with 3 all-new environments, and had a new graphics engine and mediatracker. Then TrackMania Original (1.5.0, sometimes referred to as LevelUp) was released which was an update for PowerUp with the original 3 environments but with more new blocks and the improvements from Sunrise. Versions 1.2.5 and 1.5.0 both came as downloadable patches and as all-in-one CDs.

From memory, but it ties up with these sources:
http://forum.deepsilver.com/forum/showt ... hp?t=18145
http://en.tm-wiki.org/wiki/TrackMania_Original
http://en.tm-wiki.org/wiki/TrackMania_Sunrise

User avatar
pobmaestro
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 374
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 19:46
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMUF, TMWii
Location: UK

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by pobmaestro » 25 May 2008 18:29

Zooz wrote:Its impossible that they don't know about it already...
But if enough people ask about it, maybe it'll go up in their priorities list.
Well I wouldn't be suprised if they didn't know if no-one has contacted, and I doubt they have time to trail through all the forum posts? It wouldn't do any harm if people contacted them to let them know of the problem, and some influencial bodies asking aswell would help ;)

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Zooz » 25 May 2008 22:39

I've already mentioned it to Florent at least once

User avatar
pobmaestro
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 374
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 19:46
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMUF, TMWii
Location: UK

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by pobmaestro » 26 May 2008 10:16

If Zooz isn't influencial enough then who is ;)

Well the only reason to play TMO is for nostagia. Since its included in TMU(F) and you can copy all music/skins/tracks from TMO anyhow, so they have no real need to draw their attention to pleasing such a small sector.

Mixo
road tourist
road tourist
Posts: 97
Joined: 04 Jan 2008 03:27
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Manialink(s): Mix

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Mixo » 26 May 2008 15:46

pobmaestro wrote:Well the only reason to play TMO is for nostagia.
:?: No, there are several good reasons why someone might want to play older versions of TM.

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 26 May 2008 15:48

Gots to agree with that....you can crank the graphics up higher on older TMs....and as such, they're worth more than just nostalgic goodness...
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

User avatar
pobmaestro
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 374
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 19:46
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMUF, TMWii
Location: UK

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by pobmaestro » 26 May 2008 17:08

lol sorry, I have obviously underestimated the TMO community :D
Trackmaniack wrote:you can crank the graphics up higher on older TMs
I don't quite understand that, TMUF graphics on the original environments are vastly superior, unless you mean it works better on your computer?

BTW does the TMO ladder still function?

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 26 May 2008 19:55

What I mean by that is with TMN and beyond, they did away with a feature that I found quite helpful. I don't remember what it was called, but it basically adjusted the view distance....you could have it set to off, or auto, or a set number of blocks. I liked the medium setting best, because I could crank the graphics up pretty high and still have high performance.
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

Mixo
road tourist
road tourist
Posts: 97
Joined: 04 Jan 2008 03:27
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Manialink(s): Mix

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Mixo » 26 May 2008 21:32

TMO ladder still works, yes. Kind of wish it didn't. ;)

I remember having to use "limit depth" on slow computers; it was a pretty handy feature.

User avatar
mskinggd
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 182
Joined: 07 Jun 2008 15:41
Owned TM-games: TMUF, DS :-)
Location: Israel, Haifa
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by mskinggd » 05 Jul 2008 11:55

thats like the patch for fix starforce on trackmania nations ESWC.
Image
Image

User avatar
pobmaestro
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 374
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 19:46
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMUF, TMWii
Location: UK

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by pobmaestro » 08 Jul 2008 21:30

Maybe now with Nadeo releasing a Vista patch for TMSX they will turn their attention to TMO :D

Xymph
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 5654
Joined: 19 Aug 2007 12:58
Owned TM-games: TMN, TMU, TMF, TM²
Contact:

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Xymph » 08 Jul 2008 22:43

pobmaestro wrote:Maybe now with Nadeo releasing a Vista patch for TMSX they will turn their attention to TMO :D
Now? That patch was released on Aug 20, 2007. :roll: Don't hold your breath. :wink:
Developer of XASECO for TMF/TMN ESWC & XASECO2 for TM²: see XAseco.org
Find your way around the Mania community from the TMN ESWC hub, TMF hub, TM² hub, and SM hub

Acceleracer_01
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 427
Joined: 07 Jul 2008 21:52
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMF, TM2
Location: Germany

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by Acceleracer_01 » 09 Jul 2008 11:53

That really annoys that it doesn´t work on Vista (for me).

I had version 1.2.5 then upgraded to Original (1.5.0), downloaded the Vista patch (1.5.0 ---> 1.5.2) then it says "TMO was not found on your computer". :grmblz: :ftw:

Why doesn´t work the Vista patch? Is it my computer´s fault?
greetz,
Image

User avatar
pobmaestro
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 374
Joined: 17 Sep 2007 19:46
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMUF, TMWii
Location: UK

Re: TMO on Windows Vista

Post by pobmaestro » 09 Jul 2008 17:56

Xymph wrote:
pobmaestro wrote:Maybe now with Nadeo releasing a Vista patch for TMSX they will turn their attention to TMO :D
Now? That patch was released on Aug 20, 2007. :roll: Don't hold your breath. :wink:
Oops that was the late night error of only looking at the date for the most recent posts and not checking the original post ;)

Acceleracer that is the problem with trying to run Trackmania with the TMO Vista patch, so it's not your computer but a bug with the patch which means Trackmania 1 is unplayable on Vista.

Post Reply