Uncompressed replays???

This forum deals with all the Movies & Replays of the Community. Use http://www.tm-tube.com and share your creations here!

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Post Reply
Screek
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Feb 2008 17:51
Owned TM-games: TMU TMN

Uncompressed replays???

Post by Screek » 02 Sep 2008 11:32

Hello ppl.

I seems to have a problem when im recording (shoot video) a replay uncompressed.

1280*720
fps = 30
alialising = 9
motion blur = on

The thing is when my uncompressed replay record hit 4gb, then it just dont get any bigger but insted it just screw the record of the replay.
Any idea / suggestion how to make uncompressed record from TMNF more then 4gb? and why do it cap there? can i move the cap?

and i know i could just do a lower resalution and such, but i dont want to :)

thanks in advance.

User avatar
Mr_MAO
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 175
Joined: 27 Mar 2008 14:51
Owned TM-games: TMU(F)
Location: Karlstad, Sweden

Re: Uncompressed replays???

Post by Mr_MAO » 02 Sep 2008 15:47

I understand why you don't want to use lower res, but why don't lower the FPS? 25 is enough imo. But I haven't seen that cap, maybe is it only in TMNF? I play TMUF, and I've made an video on over 5 gig, if I remember right.
Want tutorials? Go to http://tutorials.tm-creative.org/ before posting a new thread, please!

User avatar
MicroUzi
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 53
Joined: 09 Jan 2008 22:18
Owned TM-games: TMU
Location: Turkey

Re: Uncompressed replays???

Post by MicroUzi » 02 Sep 2008 15:56

i remember that, FAT32 file system doesn't support file bigger than 4 gb. Make resulation 640x480 of video, it is enough i think.
u can watch my video captured 640x480 :

http://www.tm-tube.com/video/1359/maste ... ania--team
ImageMİ©RصZİImage
Image

User avatar
TStarGermany
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 387
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 18:12
Owned TM-games: TMN,TMNF,TMUF
Manialink(s): creative
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Uncompressed replays???

Post by TStarGermany » 02 Sep 2008 16:07

yep, my largest video shot was 21gb large, that's because the NTFS filesystem supports that sort of stuff. IIRC, new TM forever shoots videos into the C:\..My Docs&Settings\Trackmania\ folder, so it might be necessary to convert your C:\ partition to NTFS
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307881

be sure to make extensive backups before trying
Image

Screek
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Feb 2008 17:51
Owned TM-games: TMU TMN

Re: Uncompressed replays???

Post by Screek » 02 Sep 2008 17:32

i am running NTFS. im formating my comp regular and i did double check with doing a "properties" on my hard drives, everyone of them is NTFS file system.
i do also have other files bigger then 4gb.

edit: it dont work for me to use TMU, just tryed... its doing a 4gb file as well.

User avatar
TStarGermany
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 387
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 18:12
Owned TM-games: TMN,TMNF,TMUF
Manialink(s): creative
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Uncompressed replays???

Post by TStarGermany » 03 Sep 2008 20:27

ah im scratching my brain.. i remember there was a hardlimit of 4gb of avi files, for some reason in the structure of the avi format...
and i remember my videoshoot wasnt 21gb in a single shoot, it was 21gb AFTER i joined all segments together!
that is the problem you couldve run into!


when shooting the video, try to use another format than uncompressed RGB, try to use MS-DV or whatever you can find in your codec listing.. that should work better
Image

Screek
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Feb 2008 17:51
Owned TM-games: TMU TMN

Re: Uncompressed replays???

Post by Screek » 04 Sep 2008 04:56

thanks for the idea :) i will try to look into it and come with some feedback on how the project turned out :)

Screek
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Feb 2008 17:51
Owned TM-games: TMU TMN

Re: Uncompressed replays???

Post by Screek » 07 Sep 2008 08:54

no luck so far :( i didnt try with a codec yet, because i would really prefere it uncompressed.

User avatar
TStarGermany
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 387
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 18:12
Owned TM-games: TMN,TMNF,TMUF
Manialink(s): creative
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Uncompressed replays???

Post by TStarGermany » 07 Sep 2008 14:25

try it with a LOSSLESS codec,that's just as good as uncompressed data.
Image

Post Reply