Server error?

This is the place where you can find everything related to the dedicated server, control scripts and community tools.

Moderators: Pit Crew, TM-Patrol

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45

Server error?

Post by 4thdesign » 27 Apr 2008 17:06

Guys,

Had a successful TMU Forever server running last week with no problems. The last few days the switch at the datacenter broke, and this has now been replaced.

However....when starting my server now, i get the following error:
Starting TmForever v2008-04-16...
Initializing...
Configuration file : dedicated_cfg.txt
Loading system configuration...
...system configuration loaded
Loading cache...
...OK
Listening for xml-rpc commands on port 3306.
Loading dedicated server configuration...
...Dedicated server configuration loaded
Match settings file : MatchSettings\United\StadiumBlue.txt
Loading match settings...
...Match settings loaded
Autostart server on internet
Connecting to master server...
...ERROR: server unknown or not connected to the internet
Please wait, loading...
Server not running, exiting.


Press a key to quit.
Anyone know what is wrong here??

nocturne
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1390
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 18:48
Owned TM-games: all
Contact:

Re: Server error?

Post by nocturne » 27 Apr 2008 17:28

Seems the server can't connect to the internet... Check to make sure your firewall is properly configured, and that you have the proper ports forwarded to the client pc (do a forum search).

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45

Re: Server error?

Post by 4thdesign » 27 Apr 2008 17:38

All ports are open. Even turned off the firewall to check, still not connecting.

Any other ideas guys please?

nouseforname
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 840
Joined: 20 Apr 2008 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMUF,TMNF, TMN
Manialink(s): therookies
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Server error?

Post by nouseforname » 27 Apr 2008 18:06

4thdesign wrote:All ports are open. Even turned off the firewall to check, still not connecting.

Any other ideas guys please?

did u try to reinstall the dediserver?

it really is a connectionproblem to masterserver, this is before any other congfiguration check. so it is not a config problem, it is a connections problem.
Owner of the Rookie servers and some more. :)
Rookies HP
My Project
Rookies Manialinkcolor>

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45

Re: Server error?

Post by 4thdesign » 27 Apr 2008 18:16

Reinstall the dediserver?

Sorry...could you be more specific with that please?

nocturne
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1390
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 18:48
Owned TM-games: all
Contact:

Re: Server error?

Post by nocturne » 27 Apr 2008 18:24

Reinstallation wouldn't be of any help, unless it was improperly extracted (would be a different error), as there are no registers involved with using the dedserver app.

The error you are experiencing is explicitly a connection problem. Please outline your network setup (ie, modem, router, firewall, NAT settings, general network setup, etc), and any other relevant details (a copy of your config perhaps, with the passwords X'ed out), and we might be able to spot any obvious conflicts/problems.

Also, try to setup a server using the ingame menu, and see if it'll connect to the masterserver and allow other internet players to join.

Edit: Also, try setting your XMLRPC port to a number over 5000...

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45

Re: Server error?

Post by 4thdesign » 27 Apr 2008 18:34

As mentioned, it was working fine 4 days ago, the dedicated server went offline due to a switch at the datacenter breaking....this has now been resolved. Nothing has been changed since and
Here is my config:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>

<dedicated>
<authorization_levels>
<level>
<name>SuperAdmin</name>
<password>xxxx</password>
</level>
<level>
<name>Admin</name>
<password>xxx</password>
</level>
<level>
<name>User</name>
<password>xxxx</password>
</level>
</authorization_levels>

<masterserver_account>
<login>xxxx</login>
<password>xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxx</password>
<validation_key></validation_key>
</masterserver_account>

<server_options>
<name>My game server name is here</name>
<comment>www.website address goes here</comment>
<hide_server>0</hide_server> <!-- value is 0 (always shown), 1 (always hidden), 2 (hidden from nations) -->

<max_players>32</max_players>
<password></password>

<max_spectators>32</max_spectators>
<password_spectator></password_spectator>

<ladder_mode>forced</ladder_mode> <!-- value between 'inactive', 'forced' (or '0', '1') -->

<enable_p2p_upload>True</enable_p2p_upload>
<enable_p2p_download>True</enable_p2p_download>

<callvote_timeout>60000</callvote_timeout>
<callvote_ratio>0.5</callvote_ratio> <!-- default ratio. value in [0..1], or -1 to forbid. -->
<callvote_ratios>
<voteratio command="Ban" ratio="0.65"/>
<!-- commands can be "Ban", "Kick", "ChallengeRestart", "NextChallenge", ... -->
</callvote_ratios>

<allow_challenge_download>True</allow_challenge_download>
<autosave_replays>False</autosave_replays>
<autosave_validation_replays>False</autosave_validation_replays>

<referee_password></referee_password>
<referee_validation_mode>0</referee_validation_mode> <!-- value is 0 (only validate top3 players), 1 (validate all players) -->

<use_changing_validation_seed>False</use_changing_validation_seed>
</server_options>

<system_config>
<connection_uploadrate>512</connection_uploadrate> <!-- KBps -->
<connection_downloadrate>8192</connection_downloadrate> <!-- KBps -->

<force_ip_address></force_ip_address>
<server_port>2350</server_port>
<server_p2p_port>3450</server_p2p_port>
<client_port>0</client_port>
<bind_ip_address></bind_ip_address>
<use_nat_upnp></use_nat_upnp>

<xmlrpc_port>3306</xmlrpc_port>
<xmlrpc_allowremote>True</xmlrpc_allowremote> <!-- If you specify an ip adress here, it'll be the only accepted adress. this will improve security. -->

<blacklist_url></blacklist_url>
<guestlist_filename></guestlist_filename>
<blacklist_filename></blacklist_filename>

<packmask>stadium</packmask>

<use_proxy>False</use_proxy>
<proxy_login></proxy_login>
<proxy_password></proxy_password>
</system_config>
</dedicated>
ALL Ports have been opened on the firewall including UDP and TCP

Anything that you see here that is wrong? Shouldnt be, as I say, nothing has changed.

Xymph
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 5706
Joined: 19 Aug 2007 12:58
Owned TM-games: TMN, TMU, TMF, TM²
Contact:

Re: Server error?

Post by Xymph » 27 Apr 2008 19:16

4thdesign wrote:As mentioned, it was working fine 4 days ago, the dedicated server went offline due to a switch at the datacenter breaking....this has now been resolved. Nothing has been changed since and
Perhaps the datacenter is using the wrong IP for the masterserver. Check what your server thinks are the IPs for game-redirect.trackmaniaforever.com (should be 91.121.126.57) and nations.trackmaniaforever.com (one of 91.121.127.95, 91.121.127.97 or 91.121.127.98).
4thdesign wrote:Here is my config:
<xmlrpc_port>3306</xmlrpc_port>
ALL Ports have been opened on the firewall including UDP and TCP

Anything that you see here that is wrong? Shouldnt be, as I say, nothing has changed.
This is the MySQL port on Linux, so there might be a conflict that causes the dedicated to bail out when it can't connect to a port that's already in use. Try using the default 5000 or a bit higher.
Developer of XASECO for TMF/TMN ESWC & XASECO2 for TM²: see XAseco.org
Find your way around the Mania community from the TMN ESWC hub, TMF hub, TM² hub, and SM hub

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45

Re: Server error?

Post by 4thdesign » 27 Apr 2008 19:21

Perhaps the datacenter is using the wrong IP for the masterserver. Check what your server thinks are the IPs for game-redirect.trackmaniaforever.com (should be 91.121.126.57) and nations.trackmaniaforever.com (one of 91.121.127.95, 91.121.127.97 or 91.121.127.98).
Sorry....where on earth would you enter that information? I have never had to do this before

Changed the Port to 5000 by the way, still not connecting.

Very odd.....any other help?

oh.....its a windows 2003 server, mysql not running on my server either.

Xymph
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 5706
Joined: 19 Aug 2007 12:58
Owned TM-games: TMN, TMU, TMF, TM²
Contact:

Re: Server error?

Post by Xymph » 27 Apr 2008 19:39

4thdesign wrote:
Xymph wrote:Perhaps the datacenter is using the wrong IP for the masterserver. Check what your server thinks are the IPs for game-redirect.trackmaniaforever.com (should be 91.121.126.57) and nations.trackmaniaforever.com (one of 91.121.127.95, 91.121.127.97 or 91.121.127.98).
Sorry....where on earth would you enter that information? I have never had to do this before
On Linux you can do this in the shell with the nslookup, dig, ping or even traceroute commands.
4thdesign wrote:Changed the Port to 5000 by the way, still not connecting.

Very odd.....any other help?

oh.....its a windows 2003 server, mysql not running on my server either.
Oh, in that case I give up. :P
Developer of XASECO for TMF/TMN ESWC & XASECO2 for TM²: see XAseco.org
Find your way around the Mania community from the TMN ESWC hub, TMF hub, TM² hub, and SM hub

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45

Re: Server error?

Post by 4thdesign » 27 Apr 2008 19:44

Give up!!

Please.....if anyone else can help, I would very much appreciate it :)

nocturne
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1390
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 18:48
Owned TM-games: all
Contact:

Re: Server error?

Post by nocturne » 27 Apr 2008 19:48

Is this a TMF server? Have you set up the masterserver account properly, using the ingame interface? In the old TMN, it was automatic -- but now it's no longer the case I believe.

To make sure your dns is working properly (as Xymph noted), you'd just need to run the 'ping' command for the command prompt:

Start -> Run -> 'cmd' -> enter
type: ping nations.trackmaniaforever.com

If it times out, run the same command with 'tracert' instead of 'ping', and paste the results here. If it comes up with a different address than the one Xymph stated, then check your DNS settings.

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45

Re: Server error?

Post by 4thdesign » 27 Apr 2008 20:19

YES...its a TMF server

I already have a united account. As mentioned, the server WAS WORKING FINE 4 days ago, until a switch at the datacenter broke.

I have changed NOTHING at all.

Today, I have managed to login to my server, and i am hosting COD4 servers, so i know this works fine.

The problem i am experiencing is for a forever server......as mentioned, i have changed NOTHING AT ALL.

When i PING, using the command you mentioned, it says the following:
C:\Documents and Settings\david>ping nations.trackmaniaforever.com
Ping request could not find host nations.trackmaniaforever.com. Please check the
name and try again.
So i then tried united:
C:\Documents and Settings\david>ping united.trackmaniaforever.com
Ping request could not find host united.trackmaniaforever.com. Please check the
name and try again.
So....perhaps there is a problem to connecting to the trackmania server master accounts?....But, what I need to know, is HOW to I resolve this?

Again......NOTHING has changed in 4 days, but obviously, there is an error with the connection, but I dont know how to sort this out, without your help guys :)

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45

Re: Server error?

Post by 4thdesign » 27 Apr 2008 20:28

Ok....here is an odd one that will help diagnose i think.

On the dedicated server, i open up the internet browser and cant connect to Google?!!

Perhaps this is why i am having problems?

How do i refresh the DNS?....would this help ?

nocturne
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1390
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 18:48
Owned TM-games: all
Contact:

Re: Server error?

Post by nocturne » 27 Apr 2008 21:34

Sorry... should of been 'ping -a nations.trackmaniaforever.com', so it'll resolve the hostname.

But, if you can't connect to google, it seems like a DNS problem (from cmd prompt, run 'ipconfig /all', and post the results)... try pinging the address directly:

'ping 91.121.126.57'

and if that works, try a trace route, and post the results:

'tracert game-redirect.trackmaniaforever.com'

Post Reply