2nd account for server??

This is the place where you can find everything related to the dedicated server, control scripts and community tools.

Moderators: Pit Crew, TM-Patrol

Post Reply
Lyian
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 68
Joined: 03 Jan 2010 15:35
Owned TM-games: TMNF, TMUF

2nd account for server??

Post by Lyian » 10 Jun 2011 20:25

Do you need to buy a 2nd copy of the game in order to host a server? I set one up, but when i try to join it, it says im already connected. o.O

Ive set this up as an internet server, and did the config on the Playerpage site. I know i wont be able to join it via internet game, but i does show up in LAN play. However when i try to join it, it tells me "You are already connected"

I have the server setup on a different computer than the one i normally play the game on. Is this not allowed on a single TM account?

[edit] Also, i had a friend test it. With his account, he can join the server in the LAN (in the same network) however my friend who is in another location says he cannot see the game on the internet.

User avatar
TheM
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 286
Joined: 25 Feb 2009 16:43
Owned TM-games: TMU(F), TMN(F), TM2
Location: Brabant, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 2nd account for server??

Post by TheM » 11 Jun 2011 07:38

No, you don't need to buy a second account for a server.
You can make 10 server accounts on your player page:
- Go to: http://player.trackmania.com
- Login with your United account
- Choose "Dedicated Servers" on the left
- Enter your CD-key
--> Now you can add server accounts.

Lyian
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 68
Joined: 03 Jan 2010 15:35
Owned TM-games: TMNF, TMUF

Re: 2nd account for server??

Post by Lyian » 12 Jun 2011 01:45

TheM wrote:No, you don't need to buy a second account for a server.
You can make 10 server accounts on your player page:
- Go to: http://player.trackmania.com
- Login with your United account
- Choose "Dedicated Servers" on the left
- Enter your CD-key
--> Now you can add server accounts.
I have done this alerady, but the only login for the server that will work, is my main trackmania account (or the main "player page" account). Am i doing something wrong?

User avatar
TheM
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 286
Joined: 25 Feb 2009 16:43
Owned TM-games: TMU(F), TMN(F), TM2
Location: Brabant, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 2nd account for server??

Post by TheM » 12 Jun 2011 08:04

Lyian wrote:
TheM wrote:No, you don't need to buy a second account for a server.
You can make 10 server accounts on your player page:
- Go to: http://player.trackmania.com
- Login with your United account
- Choose "Dedicated Servers" on the left
- Enter your CD-key
--> Now you can add server accounts.
I have done this alerady, but the only login for the server that will work, is my main trackmania account (or the main "player page" account). Am i doing something wrong?
I don't know, but if you do what I said it should do it (it's working here...).

Lyian
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 68
Joined: 03 Jan 2010 15:35
Owned TM-games: TMNF, TMUF

Re: 2nd account for server??

Post by Lyian » 13 Jun 2011 06:59

OK.. i finally got it working. Turns out the player page has a character limit on the password for setting up server accounts. I was typing in the full password i put in and the account setup was cutting off the end.

Thanks

Post Reply