Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower right

General Discussion about Trackmania United

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Post Reply
max_c_speed
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 01:29
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower right

Post by max_c_speed » 16 Jun 2011 12:45

Hi,

I've been absent from playing for about 160 days (nice that TrackMania United Forever reminds me about this :) ), I see my profile and can log in but then all I get is the rotating earth and the blue background and the indicator in the lower right, that's it.

I can also open the bar in the top right and see my credits and go window/full-screen but that's about it. Am I doing something wrong?

The first time I started it today, it completely hung. There was only a black screen and that was it. Since the game did not respond anymore, I tried to kill the process but that didn't work; then tried to kill the process structure -> didn't work either.

So I told Windows to reboot ,that finally worked.

I'm on Windows 7 Pro 64 bit. Here's a screenshot of what I'm seeing:

Image

thanks!

max_c_speed
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 01:29
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by max_c_speed » 16 Jun 2011 17:54

I've now also tried deleting my profile and creating everything from scratch, re-entering my key and such, but it still hangs :-(

Edit:
I've now even re-installed the game, uh oh ... still the same issue :-(

max_c_speed
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 01:29
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by max_c_speed » 17 Jun 2011 10:52

No one? :(

User avatar
black_chaos
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Dec 2009 08:17
Owned TM-games: TMU
Manialink(s): ch
Location: Cyprus!!!
Contact:

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by black_chaos » 17 Jun 2011 11:17

try to download tmn forever to see if the problem is only for tm united ...
when you unistalled the game and installed again you replaced the trackmania folder from 'my documents'?
Click For My Trackmania Stats
Click For My TMN Forever tmx Acc
Click For My United tmx Acc
Image

max_c_speed
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 01:29
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by max_c_speed » 17 Jun 2011 11:48

black_chaos wrote:try to download tmn forever to see if the problem is only for tm united ...
when you unistalled the game and installed again you replaced the trackmania folder from 'my documents'?
I just did, same problem :( OMG ...

I completely moved the TrackMania folder out of the way and freshly logged in, still b0rked. :-/

User avatar
black_chaos
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Dec 2009 08:17
Owned TM-games: TMU
Manialink(s): ch
Location: Cyprus!!!
Contact:

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by black_chaos » 17 Jun 2011 16:21

try format?
take the risk if y :lovetm
Click For My Trackmania Stats
Click For My TMN Forever tmx Acc
Click For My United tmx Acc
Image

User avatar
»Enryx«
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1227
Joined: 12 Dec 2010 20:25
Owned TM-games: TMF TMWii TM²C/S
Location: The Internet

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by »Enryx« » 17 Jun 2011 16:56

Have you tried double-clicking a gbx file and not the TM launcher? Idk if changes something I'm only throwing ideas...
Image

tcq
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 380
Joined: 05 Apr 2007 08:09
Location: Germany

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by tcq » 17 Jun 2011 18:14

Don't know what's wrong, but my idea with the picture would be the following. Because there is this loading status in the lower right corner,i would guess it's a problem with your firewall maybe? I mean i think it is trying to load the advertisement window for TM² canyon. Maybe you need to wait longer (depending on your internet connection) or to check if tmf is allowed to communicate to the internet?

Just guessing, but maybe this helps :?

max_c_speed
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 01:29
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by max_c_speed » 17 Jun 2011 22:43

black_chaos wrote:try format?
take the risk if y :lovetm
Srsly? :-/
»Enryx« wrote:Have you tried double-clicking a gbx file and not the TM launcher? Idk if changes something I'm only throwing ideas...
No, what is that exactly? Though I've been playing a lot I consider myself still only a casual TrackMania player; I realize the GBX from the installer and file associations which I did.
tcq wrote:Don't know what's wrong, but my idea with the picture would be the following. Because there is this loading status in the lower right corner,i would guess it's a problem with your firewall maybe? I mean i think it is trying to load the advertisement window for TM² canyon. Maybe you need to wait longer (depending on your internet connection) or to check if tmf is allowed to communicate to the internet?

Just guessing, but maybe this helps :?
I thought about that too, but:
  • I can log in -> so network OK?
  • When I ran it the first time after a new installation (and I did this three times, twice with United, once with Nations) Windows 7 asks me whether to allow this App on the firewall or not; which I of course accepted
But I'm glad everyone is suggesting something, because I'm really at a dead end now. I figure it is time for contacting support, but I can't find it?!? The main site now has this Canyon thing where I can't find anything anymore. Does anyone one where to properly contact for support?

thanks...

max_c_speed
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 01:29
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by max_c_speed » 30 Nov 2013 10:26

I still wasn't able to solve this issue. It's been two years and I stopped playing because, well, it actually didn't work anymore.

I started it today, I logged in with my profile and I even received 500 Copper for being away two years :p

Before that, I did run the updater but it told me I've the latest version.

I still get the forever spinning wheel in the bottom right ...

User avatar
eXtreme34
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2533
Joined: 28 Aug 2011 19:25
Owned TM-games: All. Just all.
Manialink(s): extreme34
Location: dtc :3
Contact:

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by eXtreme34 » 30 Nov 2013 10:32

Hi and welcome :)
Maybe try to press escape after you have logged in with your profile ?
3
Image
Image
Image
Visit my manialink (more than 1000 maps) : extreme34color>

max_c_speed
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 01:29
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by max_c_speed » 30 Nov 2013 10:49

Unfortunately nothing happens.

I still can access the information bar in the upper right, showing me my coinds, sound/music slider, access to settings and 3d menu and the time.

I can access the graphics settings from there for example.

Pressing esc, tab, space, enter, nothing happens. The wheel spins and spins.

Btw, the version is labeled "TrackMania United Forever 2.11.26 en" on the initial dialog where I can choose to Play/Configure, etc.

After I log in with my profile, a few "Loading" / "Please wait" dialogs appear but they're gone so quickly I even can't fully read them.

I looked into the Firewall settings and found some for "TmForever". A few were from outdated installations. I removed all of them, started it, I got the "requests firewall exception prompt" and acknowledged it.

Still no change ...

So I made a video: http://my-serve.rs/tmp/tmuf/20131130-tr ... oading.mp4 .

Thanks for any help ...

Kripke
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 290
Joined: 16 Oct 2009 18:36
Owned TM-games: tmu
Manialink(s): kripke

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by Kripke » 30 Nov 2013 21:34

Try to change your settings in the internet explorer like cookies and these private things, can you try it pls?
Do you need Coppers? Click here
Image
Image
________________
PC-specs: Intel Core i7-3770k CPU @ 3.50GHz | 32GB Ram | Windows7 prof. ed. 64 Bit | Nvidia GTX 680

max_c_speed
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 01:29
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Cannot play, only rotating earth and indicator lower rig

Post by max_c_speed » 30 Nov 2013 23:46

omg .. it works now.

I just reset the settings to default.

I'm pretty paranoid when it comes to IE thus I've pretty much restricted everything included cookies and such; I don't use this browser so I never thought about this. Wow.

Post Reply