TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Here you can comment all news published on the official site of Trackmania
User avatar
DSTamuroForever41
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 22
Joined: 19 May 2008 08:08
Owned TM-games: TrackMania Forever
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by DSTamuroForever41 » 30 May 2008 13:04

Retodon8 wrote:Thanks for posting, Miguel!
Video comment wrote:[...]the interface has just been adapted to the console's screen resolution, without using the dual screen yet.
I do wonder what they will use the second screen for.
Perhaps a mirror showing what´s behind you is one of the more obvious choices, but that would double the processing power needed, so probably not.
Another obvious guess I can make is a dashboard view with steering wheel, speedometer, stuff like that.
Maybe even a 2D map, which would work for some tracks.
Signs showing upcoming turns maybe, although those would require an extra bit of custom programming for every available track I´d say.
Well, we´ll see.
You could be right. But I think it's for a map!

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by BLaHiTiS » 30 May 2008 21:32

http://www.4colorrebellion.com/archives ... kmania-ds/

Here's a new interview i found on TM-DS, there's a bit more info inside :)
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

User avatar
s!em
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 573
Joined: 06 Dec 2005 12:53
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: Belgium

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by s!em » 31 May 2008 18:51

I thought there would be more :-/
But nah, tm where you want: great
Only about the enviro's:
Stadium, Rally, Desert
They've forgotten the best ones :(
I wanted to see bay and snow on TM-Ds :(

User avatar
DSTamuroForever41
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 22
Joined: 19 May 2008 08:08
Owned TM-games: TrackMania Forever
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by DSTamuroForever41 » 13 Jun 2008 12:12

s!em wrote:I thought there would be more :-/
But nah, tm where you want: great
Only about the enviro's:
Stadium, Rally, Desert
They've forgotten the best ones :(
I wanted to see bay and snow on TM-Ds :(
Heh! I wanted Island on there!

CompiledTom
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 7
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 14:59
Owned TM-games: TMU

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by CompiledTom » 02 Jul 2008 15:39

robert1 wrote:i no ill probably be moaned at for even asking this but any way...
does this mean that maby in the future TM might move to other consoles?
Honestly, if TM showed up on the 360, I might buy one. As much as I like PC gaming, I'm also liking the potential of the new console rigs: with keyboard and hard drives, console gamers can now get in to the more complex games: MMORPG's & games with editors (like TM).

User avatar
mskinggd
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 182
Joined: 07 Jun 2008 15:41
Owned TM-games: TMUF, DS :-)
Location: Israel, Haifa
Contact:

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by mskinggd » 13 Jul 2008 14:11

siem, i think thats only a PC trackmania game is big... on DS trackmania will be smaller (in Size).

Claes
road tourist
road tourist
Posts: 77
Joined: 17 Aug 2006 20:23
Owned TM-games: TMN, TMU, TMS

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by Claes » 13 Jul 2008 20:09

Retodon8 wrote: I do wonder what they will use the second screen for.
Perhaps a mirror showing what´s behind you is one of the more obvious choices, but that would double the processing power needed, so probably not.
Another obvious guess I can make is a dashboard view with steering wheel, speedometer, stuff like that.
Maybe even a 2D map, which would work for some tracks.
Signs showing upcoming turns maybe, although those would require an extra bit of custom programming for every available track I´d say.
Well, we´ll see.
If you look at their (Firebrand) previous game, 'Race Driver: Create & Race', which looks alot like Trackmania with and editor and stuff, they have a 2D map on the second screen. So the chances of a 2D map on the second screen is big i think :)

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by BLaHiTiS » 02 Aug 2008 22:38

viewtopic.php?f=44&t=17278
new trailer!
  • you see the editor in action with the stylus as an interface (A remark I have about this is that I kinda wish you could not only rotate it by interface buttons on screen, but also by pressing left shoulderkey and making a rotate movement on the block you want to rotate)
  • you see a well established and balanced set of blocks for desert, stadium and ralley
  • DS wifi multiplayeer, (also with one cart play where one player will transfer his game to others)
  • mediatracking i assume, maybe a simplified version ?: cause you see the loops having camera shifts.
  • We see what the second screen is used for :)
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

User avatar
s!em
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 573
Joined: 06 Dec 2005 12:53
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: Belgium

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by s!em » 03 Aug 2008 17:29

BLaHiTiS wrote:mediatracking i assume, maybe a simplified version ?: cause you see the loops having camera shifts.
I think that is automatic done in the game?

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TRACKMANIA ON NINTENDO DS... IT'S OFFICIAL!

Post by BLaHiTiS » 04 Aug 2008 10:13

s!em wrote:
BLaHiTiS wrote:mediatracking i assume, maybe a simplified version ?: cause you see the loops having camera shifts.
I think that is automatic done in the game?
i was sort of pondering about that as well. You know it's assumable that the loop segments provoke a camera switch in the DS version, but then again: it's highly irritating if you would have an automatic camera change at every loop, they would also have to do that with the half pipes because you can form loops with those ones as well.

So, I'm really not sure about this, maybe the person who's racing is just changing cams manually.
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

Post Reply