TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

News about what's going on in the community...

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Post Reply
User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by BLaHiTiS » 31 Jul 2007 11:43

here too.. you might want to delete your tmforum cookie , it could be that I've changed something around (like forum dir) that your kooky exists but is 'broken'. It happens sometimes when the admin changes cookie parameters...
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

User avatar
dustyjo
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 561
Joined: 14 Aug 2005 01:48
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMU, TMS, TMN
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by dustyjo » 01 Aug 2007 01:30

Okay it works now.
Image
-dustyjo Happy TrackManiac since Dec. 2004

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by BLaHiTiS » 20 Oct 2007 06:54

I've now upgraded to the 7th RC of the forum software. THat one was needed and upgraded the entire database also, it's a forum version that had been cleared by an external security company so many security related issue had been fixed.
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by Zooz » 20 Oct 2007 12:04

If you can't stay logged in any more after the update:
If you use Firefox: go to Options, Privacy, click Show Cookies, search for tm-forum and delete all the tm-forum cookies.
If you use Internet Explorer: Dunno, go get a proper browser like Firefox :P

Dec
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 971
Joined: 20 May 2006 12:22
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Location: SLOVENIA, Radeče
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by Dec » 20 Oct 2007 12:19

Thx ZooZ, I was wondering why I had this problem, fixed now :)

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by BLaHiTiS » 20 Oct 2007 12:52

yeah and in vista if you just don't want to end up deleting all cookies you need to go to any windows (not internet) explorer window , press f10, choose extra > properties and then uncheck the hide system files or you'll not see your cookies under:

C:\Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Cookies

then make sure you have all you@www.tm-forum cookies (there can be several ), and delete them.

it's because theres an important security update.
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by BLaHiTiS » 11 Dec 2007 11:29

in 2 days, the forum will go gold (at least the software behind it). IT will no longer be a release candidate.

In the mean time, there's a bug for some pleople that prevent the board from sending notifications to your email adress if you have a new PM. A solution for this is to change your email adress , then change it back if you want to get hooked to that feature again.

Hopefully this will be solved in the gold release in 2 days.
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by Retodon8 » 30 Apr 2008 15:49

Here is a suggestion:

First of all, see this thread to get an idea of what I'm talking about.
If you use the forum's "Code" button, you get a pre-formatted box, like:

Code: Select all

Such
I checked the generated source and it's basically a simple div.
If the content of the div grows large, the box grows with it, which is fine, but only to a point.
In the aforementioned thread that one post is huge thanks to the large amount of error code in there.

Why not break things off after a bit, or rather hide things, of course adding scrollbars so everything is still there.
Here is a "random" explanation (one of the first Google hits) of what I'm talking about.
I'm not sure if the source for phpBB needs to be changed for that, if it's a lot of work, or if it's as easy as checking a little box or adding a number to some kind of GUI, but in my opinion this would be a nice thing to have. :)

Thanks for listening/reading.
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by BLaHiTiS » 30 Apr 2008 16:15

well, yeah, the

Code: Select all

 isn't a part of admin customizable feature so it needs to be changed in the source (somewhere). 

I'll have to see if it's possible, and if I manage it I'd like to experience the feauture of merged files in forumupgrades (see if it works at all).

If it doesn't it's not such a good idea to change much of the source.
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

kevin916
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 Aug 2005 16:04
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Location: East of Switzerland

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by kevin916 » 30 Apr 2008 16:30

You just have to change the CSS-files and this should be editable somehow.

Code: Select all

div.codecontent { /*from the posted site*/
height: 200px;
width: 300px;
overflow: auto;
border: 1px solid #666;
background-color: #ccc;
padding: 8px;
}

User avatar
-Lr-SadHik
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 531
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:53
Owned TM-games: ALL
Manialink(s): :SadHik
Location: France - Grenoble

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by -Lr-SadHik » 30 Apr 2008 17:13

BLaHiTiS wrote:well, yeah, the

Code: Select all

 isn't a part of admin customizable feature so it needs to be changed in the source (somewhere). 

I'll have to see if it's possible, and if I manage it I'd like to experience the feauture of merged files in forumupgrades (see if it works at all).

If it doesn't it's not such a good idea to change much of the source.[/quote]

the merge works very well for our changes at carpark  :gobananas:

btw : i suggest to go back to the old smileys, the new phpbb3 ones are ugly  :(
Image Image
Image

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by BLaHiTiS » 30 Apr 2008 19:56

Code: Select all

.codecontent {
	direction: ltr;
           overflow: auto;
	margin: 0 5px 10px 5px;
	padding: 5px;
	border-color: #D1D7DC;
	border-width: 1px 1px 1px 1px;
	border-style: solid;
	font-weight: normal;
	color: #006600;
	font-size: 0.85em;
	font-family: Monaco, 'Courier New', monospace;
	background-color: #FAFAFA;
}
i changed it but the crashlog is still shown without scrollbar so it seems..
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by Retodon8 » 30 Apr 2008 20:47

Looking at your post (didn't check the actual source), you added the "overflow: auto;" bit, but you didn't restrict the size of the div with "width" and "height" parameters.
Without restrictions the div will just keep on stretching with the content.
See kevin916's post below mine; he mentioned those, although I think using "em" instead of "px" as a unit would be better.
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

kevin916
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 Aug 2005 16:04
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Location: East of Switzerland

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by kevin916 » 30 Apr 2008 20:54

Add a width and max-height (no height needed) for the CSS-class.
It works for me in a test-HTML.

px and % should also work.

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: TM-FORUM3: The new features in a nutshell

Post by Retodon8 » 30 Apr 2008 21:03

I posted too quickly, didn't think about the dimension thing properly. :)

As for the units, I know px would work, but depending on monitor size, screen resolution, letter size (overridden by OS or brower), that means it shows differently on different systems.
With "em" it would always be bound to letter size, so it'll be better at conforming to the overall dimensions of the surrounding content.
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

Post Reply