Hello

General discussion about all the Trackmania series.

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Koroner
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 224
Joined: 13 Feb 2006 11:01
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU

Re: Hello

Post by Koroner » 19 Aug 2007 17:58

otmb;ripbox wrote:sounds like you have plenty of time kill Florent..... so i put to you the task of making TMU or even the roumerd TMH direct X 10 compliant :mrgreen: and maybe even look into why going to window/desktop mode under vista makes our video drivers crash and cause live kernal events when using any of the Nvidia 8000+ cards (and some ATI card)
I use Vista and with my 8600M GT everything works fine. When I go window mode I experience no issue at all.

I also tried some cool graphics settings such as bloom and motion blur and they look very pretty (although the latter is annoying to the race and I toggled it off).

User avatar
-Lr-SadHik
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 531
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:53
Owned TM-games: ALL
Manialink(s): :SadHik
Location: France - Grenoble

Re: Hello

Post by -Lr-SadHik » 19 Aug 2007 18:15

so... hmm... hello :mrgreen:
Image Image
Image

User avatar
otmb;ripbox
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 854
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 22:10
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMO, TMS
Contact:

Re: Hello

Post by otmb;ripbox » 20 Aug 2007 01:07

Koroner wrote:
otmb;ripbox wrote:sounds like you have plenty of time kill Florent..... so i put to you the task of making TMU or even the roumerd TMH direct X 10 compliant :mrgreen: and maybe even look into why going to window/desktop mode under vista makes our video drivers crash and cause live kernal events when using any of the Nvidia 8000+ cards (and some ATI card)
I use Vista and with my 8600M GT everything works fine. When I go window mode I experience no issue at all.

I also tried some cool graphics settings such as bloom and motion blur and they look very pretty (although the latter is annoying to the race and I toggled it off).
well i use the 8800GTX and get those problems after a while if i have been playing other games b4 hand also the other way round :(
however i never had any problems with my old system running a 6800GS
Image
* Core 2 Quad Q6600
* Abit IN9 32 MAX Motherboard
* 8 GB OCZ 4GB PC2-6400 nVIDIA SLI-Ready Edition (4X2GB)
* AMP! GeForce GTX 260² 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 x 1
* 150GB Raptor HDD
* 500GB Caviar HDD
* Vista Ultimate x64
* Thermaltake W0133RB 1200W PSU

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Hello

Post by Mac Matrix » 20 Aug 2007 04:06

What does the bloom do anyway? Never really figured out what that does.

:s
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

User avatar
MrA
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 192
Joined: 15 Aug 2005 10:29
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Hello

Post by MrA » 21 Aug 2007 16:42

otmb;ripbox wrote:
Koroner wrote:
otmb;ripbox wrote:sounds like you have plenty of time kill Florent..... so i put to you the task of making TMU or even the roumerd TMH direct X 10 compliant :mrgreen: and maybe even look into why going to window/desktop mode under vista makes our video drivers crash and cause live kernal events when using any of the Nvidia 8000+ cards (and some ATI card)
I use Vista and with my 8600M GT everything works fine. When I go window mode I experience no issue at all.

I also tried some cool graphics settings such as bloom and motion blur and they look very pretty (although the latter is annoying to the race and I toggled it off).
well i use the 8800GTX and get those problems after a while if i have been playing other games b4 hand also the other way round :(
however i never had any problems with my old system running a 6800GS
Running Vista and a 640MB XFX 8800GTS Extreme XXX with no problems.
Intel Core 2 Extreme Quad-Core QX6700, 2.66GHz
4GB (4x1Gb) 1066MHz Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator
640MB XFX 8800GTS Extreme XXX
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Vista Home Premium 32Bit

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Hello

Post by Retodon8 » 24 Aug 2007 13:34

Hey Florent; good to hear the game is still being improved!
Mac Matrix wrote:What does the bloom do anyway? Never really figured out what that does.
Basically it's... hmmm, first let's try Wikipedia before writing my own explanation.
Ah, this'll do just nicely: Bloom article.
The text isn't hard to follow, but there are pictures there too. :)
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Hello

Post by Mac Matrix » 28 Aug 2007 23:19

Retodon8 wrote:Hey Florent; good to hear the game is still being improved!
Mac Matrix wrote:What does the bloom do anyway? Never really figured out what that does.
Basically it's... hmmm, first let's try Wikipedia before writing my own explanation.
Ah, this'll do just nicely: Bloom article.
The text isn't hard to follow, but there are pictures there too. :)
Ah. O_o; that explains it very well, although I didn't really notice anything different when I tested it, except a drop in frame rate. Might have to doublecheck... could have just been me sleeping at the computer. xD
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

Koroner
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 224
Joined: 13 Feb 2006 11:01
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU

Re: Hello

Post by Koroner » 02 Sep 2007 20:18

Mac Matrix wrote:What does the bloom do anyway? Never really figured out what that does.

:s
Lights look cooler, in the sense that they're brighter.
Have you ever tried Guild Wars? I'm not sure but I think there's a sort of persistent blooming effect in that game, and as a matter of fact the great lighting is what has always made GW look so gorgeous to me.

Within TMU I especially appreciate bloom in Stadium and in Coast. For example, lights such as the ones at dirty cp-blocks do improve a lot.

User avatar
EntropicLqd
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 72
Joined: 12 Aug 2007 10:30
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Contact:

Re: Hello

Post by EntropicLqd » 14 Sep 2007 22:30

Florent wrote:....at least, it is fun for developers. It is always cool to have time to make things right....
You got that right. A luxury that's almost never available.

Is that 1.4 million lines all the code you guys have put together or does it include library code and header files from third parties? What about comments, blank lines, and other useful whitespace?

Either way, that's a fair chunk of code to have to keep clean. :) I hope you let your devs sleep. Tired developers produce crappy code. Maybe I'll count the code in the Java monitor I've been working on to see how it compares. I'm not sure I've broken 10,000 lines yet :1

lepapa
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 359
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:55
Location: Villeurbanne

Re: Hello

Post by lepapa » 15 Sep 2007 16:47

Hello..... :pil

for FBs... 80000 lines and 115 files :P
:lovehylis
1) Portable TOSHIBA T7100 Core(TM2) Duo CPU
2) Fixe Intel(r) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300@1.86GHz (2 hds 149Go et 249Go) 2Go Ram

Florent
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1594
Joined: 09 Aug 2005 14:07

Re: Hello

Post by Florent » 23 Sep 2007 21:34

it is only lines of code from Nadeo :|

and we are still in this big work :pil

good LePapa :1

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: Hello

Post by Trackmaniack » 24 Sep 2007 17:18

Florent wrote:it started long long ago...

we were to make a quick update for client server anticheat, and I have ask the network engineer to fix the p2p... but the real fix ask big work, and we decided to merge with latest code... now, we have to fix all the menus because the making of Americas cup have changed it. But changing the menu code broke some mediatrack, so we need to update this as well. etc.

There is around 1.4 million lines of C++ code in TM. it means nothing but the weight to make it move :mrgreen:
http://msquaredtechnologies.com/m2rsm/r ... etrics.htm
Are you saying that the TM games were written in C++?!
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

Zooz
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 5326
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 08:58
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMNF, TMUF
Manialink(s): zooz
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Hello

Post by Zooz » 24 Sep 2007 17:33

I believe most games are written in C++ ^^

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: Hello

Post by Trackmaniack » 24 Sep 2007 19:09

Really? Then how come when I try to use my decoder to check on some of the code of some of my games all I get is gibberish? I'm no hacker, I just have problems with some games sometimes, and I dabble in C++, and I try to fix the problems that I come across. I've fixed a few bugs this way, but most games I try to get into only spit back gibberish.
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

Florent
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1594
Joined: 09 Aug 2005 14:07

Re: Hello

Post by Florent » 24 Sep 2007 19:12

it is only C++ yes.

Post Reply